It’s My Choice

Over the past several weeks I have been making a conscious effort to “Get Healthy.” I  began by making changes in my diet and also by joining the gym to get some much needed exercise. I have been reading articles, began to drink only water, green tea, and juice, and eating foods that are grilled or roasted.  These changes were hard for the first week or two. As I got used to the changes, I began to feel better and found that I had more energy. I even have shed 18 lbs. which my clothes have said, “Thank you”, to the extra room I have given them.  🙂  Physically, I have felt that the choices I have made are good for me. I think however that the choice I make with my time is the most important I will ever make. Just as I only have one body and I need to take care of it to the best of my ability. My day, just as yours, only has 24 hours in it. We all have the same amount of time.

The choices we make with our time will impact us and our surroundings. It is our decision on what to do with the time we have been blessed with. *(I was thinking along these lines when I was responding to my friend, Dionna, over at Emphasis on Moms as she commented on It’s my timeWhen I realized my comment was getting longer and longer, I decided to continue along these lines here. If you are looking for a great site for Moms, check it out!) 

As a mother, my choices not only affect me but also my family.  When my children were babies, they needed my constant attention. My every moment surrounded their every need. Even when they were sleeping, I always had at least one ear alert to every change in breathing, hiccup, snore, or cry. When I was sleeping, I slept lighter than I ever had before ready to answer all cries or calls. As they grew older, you would think that things would change. They were growing and maturing and able to handle more things on their own. Still, I am ready. Do I still hear them in the middle of the night? Yes. I choose to watch over them and be there to take care of them.

I have made the choice to teach them about God and the Bible.  Like Joshua in the Old Testament, I want those within my house to serve the Lord. It is so important to invest the time that was needed to teach them the ways of God.  I was thinking about the families in the Old Testament. They were directly responsible for teaching what God said to their children. They did go to the temple to worship. They had the priests and their leader, but they were commissioned by God to teach their children. In Deuteronomy 6:6-7, we read, “And these words, which I command thee this day shall be in thine heart:  And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.”  This teaching of God’s commandments was and is a 24/7 responsibility.  The Old Testament saints were diligent.

The choices that we make as parents today will impact the future of a nation. We do need to make a difference by witnessing in our communities, towns, states, nation and around the world yet,  let us never forget that the children in our homes need to be taught the ways of God from us. We can not rely on any one else to do it. Do we sit around with our children and grandchildren, and talk of the ways of God and his commands for us as the saints of old? or do we talk about everything else?  Are we sharing daily with our children the things we have learned at the feet of Jesus?

It is our Choice!

7 thoughts on “It’s My Choice

  1. Hi Amy,

    You are right on about its our choice but so many won’t accept the pain that goes with our choices!

    bLESSINGS.
    Ron.
    PS- I’m sure glad you laid that kidney stone and ain’t in pain no more.

  2. Same here, glad to hear you are doing much better!

    Wow Amy, I am impressed with your new life style and weight loss. Way to go, girl!

    I totally agree with Grandpaw. It’s not an easy choice, but oh so rewarding. 🙂

    God’s Grace.

  3. Thanks, Corry. I am doing much better. We have quite a time of it, but God is good. He knows all about me and what I am going through. He has not failed me. It’s not easy to choose, but like you said it is rewarding. 🙂

  4. Congrats to you on losing 18lbs! I, too, am trying to eat better – forced a little by high cholesterol. But it’s a good thing in a way. 🙂 I’m just struggling to find low fat things that I can eat that my family doesn’t turn their noses up at!

  5. Dionna, My cholesterol was a little high also. So for several months I have been trying to eat better. It is a struggle to find something that the whole family enjoys. I went back to the doctor in Feb. and found that it had gone done some. I am hoping through diet and exercise to bring it down some more. I will be praying for you. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

