Just Be Still!

Life has kicked into high gear. Almost everyone I have talked to lately has told me how busy they have been during the last few months. It has struck me funny, because when I see a friend I have not seen in a while I always ask how they are doing. The answer has consistently been the same. “I am just so busy!”  As I was sitting on the bleachers last night watching my son practicing with his baseball team, I fell into conversation with a few of the other moms doing the same thing. One of the main topics was how we were dealing with the task of keeping our kids and their activities organized. “I can’t seem to slow down,” one replied, “we are always running from one thing to the next.” Can anyone out there relate?

We are busy people and keeping things organized has proved to be the ultimate challenge. How do we do it? How do we stay on top of it all? This morning in the quietness of the moment, while the kids were still asleep, these words overwhelmed me, “Be still and know that I am God.” It was not an audible voice, just my heart communing with His heart. Just take a moment and “Be Still.”

For my own sake, I need to take time and just be still and recognize that God is God.  The one who created the universe and set the sun, moon and stars in place knows my name. The one who gave the ultimate sacrifice to redeem me from my sinful condition knows where I am at this moment.  The one who knows me better than I know myself sees my weakness and is able to strengthen me, but I must be still. 

The verses in Psalms telling us to wait on the Lord are numerous and Isaiah 40:31 has always been an encouragement to me. “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings as eagles. They shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”  Before we being running around, we must wait and renew with God.  Being still and waiting are not going to happen if we don’t make a conscious effort to see that it does. God is there to answer our prayers and give us the strength and the fortitude to make it through anything life throws at us. Our part is to be still and know that he is God.  When life overwhelms you, take a moment close your eyes, (unless you are driving your kids somewhere,  🙂   If you are, bow your heart before Him) and talk to your heavenly Father then be still and let Him talk back to you. Take a moment and recognize who He is and in that moment find the sweet peace that only God can give.

Don’t delay! Take a moment right now and just be still. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Just Be Still!

  1. Hello, Amy,
    What a wonderful thought for these times. It is important to be still, isn’t it. Those verses from Isaiah have always been favorites of mine.
    Thanks for stopping by. It’s always good to hear from you.

  2. Beverly, thanks for your kind words. I have been enjoying all the pictures at your place. Blessings.

    Corry, We are toooo busy! 🙂 I am so glad to hear from you. I hope all is well in your neck of the woods. God’s Grace to you too.

Leave a Reply

