In My Weakness

Over the past few days a song has been playing over and over in my mind. This seems to happen to me quite often. Most of the time I find it is a song that I don’t want playing over and over in my mind. It is usually one that I gets on my nerves, or one with extremely weird or “hokey” lyrics going dun, dun, dun in my brain. This week however it has been different. It is a song that came out several years ago recorded by the “Singing Americans” which was a gospel group based in North Carolina. The name of the song is “In My Weakness”.

In my weakness, he is strong. In my need he lingers on. When I come to the end of all I am, and I place my trust in him, that’s where his strength begins… in my weakness.”

I really feel like God placed that song in my mind for a particular reason. The last few weeks have been crazy. My family has been fighting sickness, and to be honest I have been weak and just plain weary. A tiredness that has settled over me and I can’t seem to catch my breath. Then day before yesterday, this beautiful song began to resonate in my brain. When a moment of quiet overshadows me, the music washes over my heart and mind, and plays the sweet harmony of “In My Weakness.”

Maybe you are where I am today, you are tired and weary fighting the good fight of faith. Maybe you are just tired with the overwhelming amount of things that have to get done today.  Sometimes when we are the most weary are the times we can’t stop and rest. Yet, we have the promise of His strength.  How can we truly know the depth of the strength of Christ till we come to the end of what is in our power to do? His strength takes control when our strength comes to an end. Many times in my own life I find I try to go forward in my own strength thinking I can handle all the problems of day to day life, but it is not about what I can do. As much as I try to tell myself I am strong, I see my weakness, but that is okay. When I recognize just how weak I am, It frees me to rest and rely on the one whose strength is perfect.

Paul said it best when inspired by God in 2 Corinthians 12:9 to write, “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

The world will tell you that you are strong enough to handle all that life throws at you. Be strong and pull yourself up. In his word however we find the true key to making it along in this life.  Be willing to admit you are weak, and rely on the strength of one who is more than capable and willing to carry your burdens for you. Paul rejoiced in his problems. Why did he do this? He knew that when he did the power of Christ would rest upon him. We need to give to God the cares and problems of this life and stop wearing ourselves out trying to carry them alone. We don’t need to be afraid to show our weakness before our Heavenly Father. He knows all things. We do need to recognize it for ourselves. Have you come to the end of all you can do and all that you are? His strength is there. Claim it.

“I place my trust in him, that’s where his strength begins… in my weakness.”

17 thoughts on “In My Weakness

  1. Amy,
    Excellent post…and isn’t it wonderful to know that He gives us that needed strength to complete the tasks before us? In relationship with Christ, we are lacking nothing.
    I will be praying for you all–let me know if there is anything specific that I can be praying about.
    Bless you, friend 🙂

  2. Hi Amy ,

    Good post and it helps to know that when we are weak He’s always there !

    Just a little word that I’m doing better ! Sorry I just didn’t feel like commenting before now ! I have really missed ya’ll the last 2 Sundays !

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  3. Amy, great post! “Be willing to admit you are weak, and rely on the strength of one who is more than capable and willing to carry your burdens for you.” It is so much easier to walk when I let go and let God carry what I feel I am able to carry on my own. I love the fact that my Crutch not only bears my weight, but carries my load as well. selahV

  4. Christy, Thank you for your prayers. Glen is the one who has been fighting this stuff the most. He came down with another temperature yesterday. We have all fought it to a certain degree. The first round Glen was sick for 10 days. I appreciate all your thoughts and prayers. I have needed the strength of my heavenly Father. I am so thankful for His grace and mercy. God Bless.

    Ron, I am so glad to hear you are doing better. I have missed you also. May God continue to be with you.

    SelahV, I am so glad we have a great God. One who “carries my load” also. I am amazed by the strength he gives in the midst of trouble. I shouldn’t be amazed. I know in my head that He is a great God, but it amazes me nonetheless. I have been enjoying your devotions lately. They have blessed me and encouraged me. Blessings to you.

  5. Morning Amy,

    Bro. Gordon and the boys told me about your illness and pain and I just wanted you to know I am praying for you.

    Blessings.
    Ron.
    PS- I missed you last Sunday .

  6. I appreciate your post! My daughter heard the song In my weakness at youth camp this summer from another girl and would like to know how to get some sheet music for it; can you help?

  7. Amie, Welcome to Byway Blessings. My step-mother is a music teacher and is all the time tracking down songs for her students. I will ask her what search sites she uses and see if we can’t help you find it. It is a great song. I will try to get back with you soon by leaving a comment here on anything I find. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

