Taking the Time to Grieve…

It has been a week of hard things. In my heart, I know everyone has times of grief and loss. Loss ebbs and flows into the life of everyone at some point. It visited my heart once again. I am going to be real with you. This time of year has always been hard for me as I remember my mother and now my father. My mother’s birthday is March 13th, and she went home to be with Jesus on April 6, 1990, 32 years ago. Dad passed just last year. I miss them so much. I miss the phone calls; I miss their words of affirmation. I miss the hugs. I just miss them. So, in the spring, they are in my heart and mind more often. This is my time to remember them and grieve them again. I think of them and let God comfort me once again. I am so thankful God understands loss and my need to take it to Him again. God understands the loss of a loved one, and I love that God is always ready to hold me close when I am in the hold of grief again because I need him again.

A few weeks ago, my beautiful friend took her last breath and awoke in the presence of Jesus. After a long hard-fought battle with cancer, her faith has become sight. Heather is in the presence of her Lord, yet I will miss her so very much. I met Heather in college as we were both freshmen newbies. We were in a lot of the same classes with education as our major. I admired her ability to play the piano and sing. Heather was always kind to me, and kindness can sometimes be hard to find. After we met and married our husbands, we found a friendship on a deeper level as our husbands were both preachers. Heather was a friend who I could share the ins and outs of being a pastor’s wife for the first time and navigate the challenges that this position often held for new pastor’s wives. While there much joy in serving God in this capacity, it does come with heartbreak and challenges. I shared with her, and she shared with me. Often, I would call, and we would pray over the needs in our lives. I will miss her wisdom, gracious spirit and listening ear. I have to say that this loss has made me keenly aware of Heaven. It has stirred up the loss I have felt over my mom and dad. I have just taken the last couple of weeks to go over memories and grieve the loss.

 “Jesus wept. Then said the Jews, Behold how he loved him!” John 11:35-36

I am glad Jesus understands and knows that sometimes I need to take the time to grieve. Grieving is not a weakness or character flaw. When I cry and grieve over someone I loved, I am following Christ’s example by processing the pain I am feeling in a way that will bring healing to my heart. I can run to the God of all comfort knowing that he has felt the feelings that I have felt and will give me grace as I grieve. Everyone grieves differently. While several factors are involved in this, I need to be sensitive how someone grieves their loss. I need to be quick to show love and sympathy to them. I need to be quick extend grace. I need to remember that grief does not have a timetable. This week will be 33 years since my mother passed, and I still miss her and grieve for her. Sometimes the best thing you can do for someone who is grieving is to be there and not say anything at all.

If you are grieving today, go to the Lord, and spend time in his presence. Let the God of all comfort hold you close. As a child of His you are never alone.

Blessings to you Today!

One thought on “Taking the Time to Grieve…

Leave a comment