Beautiful You

Beauty, it is something we all think about from time to time. Am I beautiful? Who thinks I am beautiful? Does my family really think of me as beautiful? In the moments of quiet reflection, Do we ask ourselves, “Does God think I am beautiful?”

As a child, When we are told we are beautiful by those who love us, we believe it with child like wonder. Then as we grow older, we may come in contact with other little girls who feel they must point out all our flaws to others, and make fun of our imperfections. Perhaps, these little ones have been called out by people who supposedly love them, or maybe they feel they must make fun of someone before someone else points out their flaws. I have encountered gals like this all through my growing up years. Although at the time they just seemed mean and spiteful, I have learned that many times people lash out because of their own insecurities. Do the angry barbs and cutting words hurt any less? No. These harsh words can, however, change your view of yourself and you begin to question your own beauty in the eyes of your family and even God’s view of you.  I can say this with personal conviction that this can happen, because for  a long time I did just that. I let the words of mean little girls permeate my heart and began to let it alter my own perception of me. In my own mind, I began to see myself as not worthy enough, and less than average. Maybe you find yourself in this place as an adult. Believe me when I tell you, you are not alone.

After a lot of soul-searching and praying for answers, I have come upon some simple truths. First, We are made in the image of God. Regardless of how we look on the outside, God formed every part of us. He knew what family characteristics we would have. Whether we looked like Mom or Dad or Grandma was all up to Him. He knew the flaws and blemishes we would have. God formed us in our mother’s wombs to be who we are today. We cannot allow the world dictate to us what beauty is when we are all made in God’s image and do not have control of the imperfections others may see. We need to look past our exterior. Earthly beauty fades. Solomon offers in Proverbs 31:30,”Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.” We have to keep in mind what is most important. Man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart. Is our heart a God-fearing one?

The second truth that has become evident to me is the more I focus on the beauty of God and praise Him for who He is the less I think about me. Several times in Scripture, we are called upon to recognize the beauty of the Lord.   Psalms 27:4 is one of these, “One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.” Also, Psalm 29:2 and 96:6,9 speak of the Lord’s beauty. We should be gals full of praise and reverence for the one who made us and trust that He has perfect knowledge and understanding of us.

In my own reflections, I have learned that inner beauty trumps outward beauty. When you see someone you think is beautiful, it’s all good till they open their mouth, and the ugly comes out. Maybe, you see someone maybe a little plainer, but when they speak their beautiful heart for God shines through their features making them more beautiful than you thought at first glance. I would definitely want to be part of the second group in this scenario.

Do you think of yourself as beautiful? You should if God is in your heart and shining brightly to the world outside!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful You

  1. I have found that Christ is hidden inside each believer, like a treasure and a gift to be unwrapped…as I grow to know someone more I begin to actually see Christ in them…this to me is beautiful to the point that I hardly even see the outward appearance but only Him coming out of them. Relationship is so important in the Christian experience for only in the building of a relationship can we see Christ in the people we fellowship with…we are able to see them for who they are in themselves…and more importantly who they become as Christ works in their lives…a miracle unfolding right before our eyes!

Leave a Reply

