The Better End

As this year is closing and a new one is beginning, I found myself in a place of reflection. At the beginning of every year, I always try to start right. I have a list of things I want to accomplish during the year, but taking a long look at it all, I realize there were many things on my year’s to do list that I didn’t do. Some lost momentum early in this last year, and some I strived to accomplish right up to the very end. Like my daily to do list usually runs, I didn’t finish it all.  I would have liked to have done a better job, but, alas, in many areas I failed.

Ecclesiastes 7:8 was brought to my mind this morning, Better is the end of a thing than the beginning thereof: and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit.”  The end is better. The patient in spirit is better. I caught myself in a cycle of focusing on the negative. So in my reflection, I am going to alter my focus from what I did not accomplish this year to what I did accomplish. This year was a good year. My health was so much better than the year before, and I am so thankful for that. What else was accomplished this year? I was more active, due to the fact I could walk without pain. I drew closer to the Lord this year. (That was one of the best things.) I experienced the love of family and friends. I grew closer to our members in our church family. I experienced joy. I laughed often. I hugged my kids every day. I fell deeper in love with my dear husband. All in all this year was lived well. First half of this verse accomplished. Second half of this verse I will have to work on. I surely do not want to be known as prideful, and I want to be more patient with myself and others. Sometimes I push myself too hard to do things rather than just be who God wants me to be. I think this might have to be up there on my list of “Things to Work On” this next year.

Also in my quest to come up with a 2012 to do list, I need to stop and realize though another year is closing it is not the end of it all. Until I leave this world or the Lord comes back to get us, I will still be moving forward. My work on earth is not yet completed; there is more to accomplish for Him. So no matter how I started, I can definitely finish strong with God’s help. I can be a better Christian with God’s help. At the end of 2012, may the end be better than the beginning.

6 thoughts on “The Better End

  1. Happy New Year to you Rebecca! I hope you had a good year also. I can honestly say I am a work in progress. I am so thankful God doesn’t give up on me. Blessings to you!

  2. Thank you for sharing that verse, I hand’t noticed the patient part before. It is very powerful! And being patient starts with taking the pressure off YOURSELF . . . God is infinitely patient with us, His mercies new every morning.

  3. Amy,
    A very blessed and Happy New Year to you and your family!

    we sent you an email not too long ago, but we were wondering if the e-mail address is still correct and/or if you even received it?

    Much love and (((HUGS)))

    God’s Grace.

  4. Thanks, Paula for coming by. My patience is a work in progress. I am glad for God’s patience. Blessings.

    Corry, I’ll ask Gordon If he got an e-mail. May God richly bless you this year. 🙂

  5. Beautiful post, Amy 🙂 ‘The patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit’ resonates so well with me right now, as that is the place I SO want to be. Thank you for sharing your heart. Give our love to your family!

Leave a Reply

