Taking the Lead

In the world in which we live today, we often have to look high and low to find people or things that inspire us. Last Sunday, I didn’t have to look far.  I found inspiration and encouragement in a 12 year old boy, my son.

It was Sunday afternoon and “World Hunger Sunday” at our church. It is one of the days we set aside to remember those who are in need, those who do not have the food they need on a daily basis. At our church, we go out as a group in the community and collect can goods and donations. These goods are donated to the Grady Co. Baptist Association to help them when they receive calls for families in crisis or food needs. With all the things that have been happening in the world lately, I was wondering how much response we would have yet, I was overwhelmed at the generosity of those in my community. We met at our church and gathered our bags and fliers to distribute, and decide which section each team would cover. We did not have as many come out this year as usual. We had an equal number of adults and children. So we decided that each adult would take one child and go together. I asked my two boys who they would like to go with and my oldest, Clay, said he would go with Mrs. Judy and Glen decided he would go with me. We prayed and went to our cars.  We had very fruitful results. 149 cans were collected. Everyone was so excited.

Clay and Mrs. Judy were the last group to show up and when I found out why I was overjoyed. Mrs. Judy told me that she and Clay took a street and He went down one side while she went down the other always keeping the other in sight. After several houses, She turned around and saw Clay standing under a tree in the shade with 3 boys talking with them. She told me that she thought they were talking about things that boys talk about as she walked over to them. In a moment, everything was suddenly quiet and she heard Clay talking and she saw the three boys hanging on his every word. Tears came to her eyes when she realized that Clay was telling them about Jesus and going through the plan of salvation with them. She came upon them as Clay looked up and asked them if they would like to receive Jesus as their Savior. He asked Mrs. Judy to lead them in the sinner’s prayer and all three accepted Christ.

The first thought that entered my mind was “a little child shall lead them”.  My dear son inspired me not only in leading these three to the throne of Jesus but also in his boldness to share what Jesus had done for him. He didn’t let fear get in the way of what God was leading him to do. I pray he will keep this boldness for Christ.  Now, I do not write this so you will say what a great mom I am because It is not about me. I fail God and my family so often. What I would like you to see is God can use anyone who will open their heart and let Him lead them. There are those in our churches that will  tell the children that they will make an impact for Christ when they become a teenager or even an adult, but as a child there is not much that they can do. I strongly disagree. God can take any of us whether 5 or 95 and use us if we will open our hearts and lives and offer it to God for his filling and use.

Clay came up to me with eyes shining and gave me a big hug. “You’ll never guess what happened,” he said, “Three boys accepted Jesus today.” His heart was full and mine was too. In Heaven there was rejoicing among the angels all because a child took the lead. 

“Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.”  ~Psalm 25:5

8 thoughts on “Taking the Lead

  1. Oh, Amy! That is so wonderful! I need to pray for such boldness! Praise God for your son’s beautiful heart for the Lord!

    May all of our children grow up with a passion for sharing Jesus with the world!

    Blessings, friend!

  2. Mr. Clay I am so excited and am praising God right now for your insanely awesome God directed heart!!!

    Oh and Amy…you are his momma…so praises and hugs to you too!

    For God will use who He wants, when He wants, how He wants!

    May Clay be contagious!

  3. What an inspirational post—and what an inspiration Clay is to others.
    What a blessing for you as his mom to witness his boldness–thanks for sharing this!

  4. Kimberly, I have been praying also for boldness and that God will use our children. They have such tender hearts toward God. Blessings.

    Nichole, Thanks for your kind words. I will pass them on to Clay also. I am glad God chooses to use us even when we are weak and frail. God bless you today.

    Christy, it is so good to hear from you. I hope things are going well in VA. I know you are busy with school, family etc., but I am so glad you stopped by. Blessings.

  5. Amy:
    Never underestimate the power of your witness with your children. As the mother of 4, (19, 17, 8, 6)…I am now beginning to see some of the fruit of my prayers. Having your children have a heart for Jesus is the greatest shaping we will ever do. What happens in their now, sticks for all seasons to come. I celebrate the tender love of Jesus in your son’s heart.

    May the seeds planted in his today be the fruit that blossoms in fuller measure in the years to come.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. God bless you.

    peace~elaine

  6. Thanks, Gordon. I am glad God is working in our children also.

    Elaine, Welcome to Byway Blessings. I am so glad you stopped in for a visit. Thank you for your kind words. I hope that God will continue to reveal himself to my children and that they will follow Him. Blessings.

    Jadasgigi, I am thankful for his hand of protection. God bless.

Leave a Reply

