Watch Out, Spider!

In my effort to get to work on time the other day, I, as usual, went flying out the front door and raced with my purse, foam “guzzler” of iced tea and bagel. Clay chose to fly out the door after me and  reminded me that he had seen a spider in the door of the car that we needed to take care of. I didn’t want to disappoint him the pleasure of killing a spider, but if I identified it quickly enough I could proceed down the road and reach my destination on time. My plan was to put Clay at ease and take care of it Iater that day. I opened the back door and asked him where he had seen the offender. This spider had built a web between the doors that you could only see if you opened the back or front door on the driver’s side. All I could see was two egg sacks and a complex web. Clay pointed it out as it was hiding up under the hinge that holds the door in place. The way the spider was hiding I could not identify it so with a stick I removed part of the web and the egg sacks and “squashed” them. I didn’t want them hatching and taking over my car. It is a small four door and there wouldn’t be room for all of us. 🙂 Anyway, because I couldn’t see very well I closed the back door and opened the front door to see if I could get a better view. I did. It was a black spider so I was immediately concerned I asked Clay to run inside and get the bug spray. When he returned, I armed myself with bug spray in one hand and a stick in the other.  I sprayed it good and as it slowly descended on a silky strand of web with legs curling I saw the red hour-glass shape on it. It was a black widow. I got chills as I “squashed” it when I realized that it had been there for quite some time. At any moment, it could have chosen to hop out on me or one the boys and hurt us.  I praise the Lord for his hand of protection on our family.

As I went throughout my day, I could not stop thinking about the near miss we had and God’s protecting hand. Then my thoughts lead me to realize that temptation and sin is there lurking, waiting for just the right moment to strike. It waits patiently for the opportunity to catch me with my guard down and in the place where I am the weakest. At every turn in this life, sin is all around us. We are faced with it in the media, in the places we go, and sometimes in strangers we come in contact with. We need to be ever mindful that there is one that would love to see us fail and bring down the name of Christ. It is so important for us to watch out for these opportunities, and “squash” them as we would a poisonous spider.

It is not easy to turn from temptation and sin, but we have the Holy Spirit inside of us and a Savior who overcame the very essence of sin and death on the cross.  It is God who provides a way of escape for us so we do not have to give in to the temptation.  In 1 Corinthians 10:13, we read, “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will no suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”  We are going to be tempted to do the wrong thing. Satan does not want us to succeed in the Christian life, and if he can keep us defeated, he most certainly will. My favorite line in this verse is “God is faithful.” He is here with us and we can rely on his strength when we are weak. When we became a Christian, we trusted Him with our very soul. In the same way, we can trust God for our daily keeping also. He can help us to resist temptation and guard against the attacks of those who would harm us.

It is time for you and me to keep our eyes open and watch for potential danger, temptation and sin. We know we have a friend who has endured such temptation and become a victor over it. We must turn in Jesus in our need. Jesus is our hope and He is ever faithful.

12 thoughts on “Watch Out, Spider!

  1. I have been working on memorizing that verse this week! I realize I need to be keeping my eye out for the ways out He provides for me instead of just caving when certain temptations come my way.

    And I am SOOOO glad you got that spider! Yikes! We had one in our house one time. It came in inside one of my girl’s hats that was mistakenly left outside. I was freaked out by that one for a while! And I was praising God for showing it to me before anyone was bitten!

    Blessings, friend!
    K 🙂

  2. What is sticking out in my mind from this post is that the enemy is waiting, watching and ready to attack when we are the weakest. Which makes me very aware now that I need to be praying constantly to walk, stand, run, do everything in His strength for I can’t be found weak without Him! Thank you Amy…and I too am glad you squished that spider!!

  3. I usually leave spiders and insects alone, but I am sure that I would have taken care of that one in the car. I’ve only seen a black widow once or twice.

    It is wonderful to be reminded of God’s faithfulness in every situation.

  4. Kimberly, We seem to have an abundance around our house lately. I think we have found and “squashed” 4 or 5 in the last year. I am continually grateful for God’s protection. I have been more watchful in my home and in my Christian Life. I pray that God will continue to work through me. Blessings.

    Nichole, Moving and living in His strength is definitely the way to go. When I find myself struggling it is when I am trying to move forward in my own strength. I am so glad we have a faithful God and one who loves me even when I fail Him. I pray his purpose for me will be the driving force compelling me in His strength. God bless you today.

    Beverly, Praise God for His faithfulness. Thanks so much for dropping in to “see” me. 🙂

  5. Kimberly, Thank you so much for checking on me. I somehow managed to catch the “crud” again. This makes round two or three. I can’t remember. I was not able to go to work, but for an hour and a half yesterday and the day before. I am feeling somewhat better today just really tired. Thanks for your concern hopefully I will be running 100% soon. I hope all is well with your family. Blessings.

  6. I am SO sorry you are sick! Ugh! I will be praying!

    And I am so blessed you will be joining us next week. I think the day will be Wednesday!
    Praying for your healing and for REST!

    Love and prayers,
    Kimberly

  7. Oh, Amy, so sorry you’ve got the crud again! Me, too. Just got home from the doctor. Enjoyed your post. That verse from 1 Corinthians is one the very first I memorized as a baby believer:-) It’s just as powerful today as it was back then. Thanking God for you.

    blessings,
    Vicki

  8. I love the way you write and tie it all together. It is so inspiring.

    I am grateful for God’s provision and protection for you and Clay and may He continue to bless y’all.

    I am sorry you are sick and hope you will get well soon. We are all sick now here. Yuck!

    Have a very blessed weekend.
    (((HUGS)))

    God’s Grace.

Leave a Reply

