Came Apart and Mended Up

I am so glad to be home. I had such a wonderful and uplifting time in Stone Mountain at the Minister’s Wives Retreat. We were totally pampered and made to feel like a million bucks. It was the best one I have been to yet.

I got to ride up (approximately 5 hours) with a very dear friend, Cathy D’Amico, and two new friends, Rosemary Lane and Robin Wise. We had a great time of fellowship and bonding on the way.

I saw so many friends that I had met in past years and made many new friends as well. The testimonies given by other Minister’s Wives and our speaker, Carol Ann Draper, truly uplifted the name of Christ. What encouragement we received from God’s Word. Hopefully, over the next few weeks I will be sharing what God has been doing in my heart and life through his Word and through the lives of others that I have come in contact with at this time in my life.

Isn’t God good? He pours out his blessings on us when we really need it the most. I am so glad for the time I had to come away from my daily life and meet with God.

Even Jesus found time in the midst of healing and teaching, and all the things that he was doing to come apart to the mountain and talk to his father. It was just what I needed as well.

I heard a preacher once say, “Sometimes you need to come apart, before you “come apart.” I think there is some good truth in that. Things in this life will pick and unravel the threads that hold your life. There are times when we need to take the time to come before our heavenly Father and let him “mend” all the places that the world has pulled and torn.

I thank him for all the blessings he has bestowed upon me this weekend. Maybe, you are feeling “pulled” and “picked” and you can’t go off for a day or two. Take an hour or a few minutes away from the noise and distractions of life and Let God “mend” you.

He is waiting! Don’t wait until you completely “come apart.”

8 thoughts on “Came Apart and Mended Up

  1. Amy,

    What an encouraging post! Sounds like you had a great time of fellowship with others… and with God as well.

    We definitely need our eyes fixed on Him at all times. The cares of this world have the potential to tear us down, but as you said, God will mend what is torn down when we come completely to Him.

    Thanks for sharing:)

  2. Thanks, Amy,
    I’ve been promising to catch up on your blog and tonight I read all your postings. I’m glad I forgot that you were doing all those “S” things while I was MOVING!! I would have been jealous and we know that is a sin! Sounds like you have a wonderful time and I’m glad you did. (You know I mean that) Thank you for your inspiration. I know you don’t have any time to spare, but thank you for making time to encourage me!

  3. Kelley, I am so sorry you were moving while I was at Stone Mountain. I hope everything went well. When you catch your breath, send me your phone number and we will catch up. I did think about you while I was away. I wish you could have been with me my friend. I will be praying for you as you get settled.

    Kitty, thank you so much for coming by. You are welcome as always.

  4. I like your post and all of the good thoughts you listed . Sometimes I think about all of the times He has put me back together and it is kinda scary . I am grateful He is a loving and merciful GOD! Blessings ! Ron.

  5. Thanks for the comments, Dana and Ron. I’m sorry I didn’t answer you sooner. I have been out two days with the stomach flu. I am feeling much better and I hope to post later today.

Leave a Reply

