Laugh Lines To Love

This morning as I turned on the T.V. I came across a show that was giving women the scoop on how to look years younger for less.  The treatments they were demonstrating came either from a bottle or from a mixture of household products that you would not expect.  These ladies smiled beautifully as the host of the show spread all kinds of things on their faces from egg whites, carrot juice etc. It was quite comical. I went to my dresser, I really looked at myself in the  mirror, and do you know what I saw…

 I discovered I have laugh lines.  Those little things at the corner of my eyes are winking and crinkling at me.  As I look at my mother’s picture, I see those same little lines at the corner of her eyes also. It seems to me that one out of three commercials you see on television are devoted to the cover up, concealing, and doing away of  these little lines on your face so you can have that wonderful face you had in your early twenties.  What would be really great if they sold a cream like that for everywhere, so you wouldn’t have  a twenty year old face on a thirty, forty or fifty year old body. So as the masses are buying in to the eye cream of the decade, I have decided that I like the fact that those laugh lines are there. It has to be better than spreading household goo on your face every day.

Why, you say, would anyone like laugh lines other than “the goo” reason, of course?  If you have laugh lines it because you have had the fortunate opportunity to have laughed, not just once or twice, but a million times.

 Laughter yields many, many positive results. It gives us a great pick me up. How many times have you felt down only to catch yourself seeing a funny television show or movie then dissolving into laughter. Suddenly, you feel better. On the way home from an outing last night, Gordon and I began to share funny stories from our childhood with the boys. The Laughter filled the car, and we were drawn closer as a family.  Laughing also reduces tension and stress. This is a proven fact. When have you been in a stressful situation only to have someone say something that strikes you so funny, you begin laughing, and what was a tense situation is put in perspective or calms you to a level where you can deal with it.

I want laughter to be a constant in our household.  How many times do we stifle our children’s laughter when we should join in with them instead. In the world we live in, our children are going to need the ability and encouragement to let the giggles fly as the situation calls for it. So go rent that video or just look at life, and believe me, if you go looking for it, you will find the funny in life.

So the next time  you look in the mirror and have found something there winking and crinkling at you, Rejoice!  Now is the time to be proud! Be ecstatic! You have something that the masses are trying to find. What we have is something to cherish and joy that has ceased to be contained.  What shows out around our eyes is badge of honor not to be concealed or covered up.

It is the gift of laughter!

“A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.”  –Proverbs 17:22

5 thoughts on “Laugh Lines To Love

  1. Laugh lines I can handle. it’s the rolls and bulges that get to me. can’t get the zipper up on my jeans without lying down on the bed. don’t think cukes and carrot juice will do much for that unless I make a diet of them, lol.

    I don’t have many laughlines. sad when I think about it. my husband has lots of them. I must keep him in stitches. ha.

Leave a Reply

