Compassion Meets Opportunity

When I turn on the news, I am amazed at the amount of stories focused on people doing unthinkable acts to others.  Adults hurting other adults, Parents hurting children, Children hurting other children are all apart of a vicious cycle that does not seem to have a conclusion. Hurting people are lashing out at those closest to them.  When I look at all of these terrible things, I see an absence of compassion for others.  I thought to myself, ” Where are the stories of the heroes?  The ones who not only thought of others kindly, but also took it upon themselves to go the distance in showing compassion to someone else. Where are those who saw an opportunity to take compassion to the next level from thought to action?”

I may not see many in the news, but as I look around me, I see heroes who show compassion. I see it in my family members, in my friends, and in my church family. It reminds me of Jude 22, “And of some having compassion, making a difference.”  When a need arises they don’t just think about doing something for someone  else, They do it.  These heroes do not just say, ” I sure do care about you, buddy.” and move on. They have a compassion that inspires.  I have seen them give when they had little to give. They sacrifice their time in the midst of a busy schedule.  People who go beyond meeting someone’s needs with compassion they minister to their hearts.  They are ones who take the meaning of Jude 22 literally. They make a difference. 

 I can testify about these dear people because in a time not to long ago, I was a first hand witness to this compassion they showed. Last year, I had a badly sprained ankle that turned very serious very quickly.  Because of the severity of the sprain, I could not put even the slightest pressure on my foot for three weeks.  Due to my inactivity while recuperating, I developed a  severe blood clot in my leg. I had to undergo some aggressive medical treatment in the days following the finding of the clot. During this trying time in my life,  my church family and friends rallied around my family and me. They fervently prayed for us, they brought us meals, and  they went out of their way to comfort and love on my kids.  Without asking anything in return, they showed me  the lengths that compassion can go when faced with opportunity.

A few minutes ago, My boys and I watched  as Sgt. Dakota Meyer was awarded the Medal of Honor. Sgt. Meyer is the first living recipient of the Medal of Honor since the Vietnam War.  On September 8,2009, Sgt. Meyer saved 36 of his fellow soldiers by going back again and again under heavy fire to save those to which he refered to as “his brothers”. Even after being wounded, He returned to the battle.   I am sure if given the opportunity He would do it again.   Finally, a news story that shows compassion in action.

I am so thankful that in my need God showed compassion to me. He went beyond the call of duty.  He was wounded in showing his great love and extending compassion to me. In all these things, He made a difference. I pray that in some small way, I will in my life be able to pass on a portion of the love He has given to me to someone else. I pray I will make a difference.

4 thoughts on “Compassion Meets Opportunity

  1. 🙂 This is beautiful, Amy. My life has also been blessed before by those willing to show compassion and ask nothing in return. How thankful I am for the example of those kind of true heroes. I am with you. I want a life that makes a difference. A life where I am not so focused on myself that I miss out on showing His love to a hurting and dying world. May He keep our hearts tender and our hands and feet ready. 🙂

    Thanks for all of your encouraging words at my blog!
    Love,
    K 🙂

  2. I, too, have known the great love and compassion of a great many people I have walked through my cancer season. I remember telling my dad one day, “I never knew I was this loved.” I have seen the best of humanity, and it has led me to more fully understand the grace and love of Jesus Christ.

    Thanks for stopping by the blog. Blessed Sabbath rest to you this weekend.

    peace~elaine

  3. Elaine, I’m so glad you had wonderful friends and family to love you through your season. It is a blessing to know you felt love and compassion in a time when you needed it most. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

