My Weight Loss Journey Begins…

I have been on a journey in weight loss for quite some time now. I have struggled with my weight for most of my life. Most of the diets have been tried at least once or sometimes twice. Exercise has been sporadic at best. However back in January of this year, I made a commitment to myself that this would be my year to get healthy and loose the weight that has been literally “weighing me down”. The reason being I found myself the heaviest I have ever been and knew that some things in my life had to change. 

I want to share with you that this is not a whim to loose a few extra pounds. This journey is composed of a large amount of weight that needs to be lost. I applaud anyone who is trying to lose a small amount of weight to get healthy. I just want you to understand where I am in this journey. I hesitate to put the amount of weight I have to lose because that is not where I want my focus to be. So I would know where I am, I went to a website and put in my height and the weight I am now and it calculates and gives you a healthy range in which you should be. It even includes your frame: large, medium, or small bone structure. This healthy range is my goal and where I land in this range will be between me and God. Focusing on food and weight is one of the reasons I am where I am today. As God is breaking, molding and reshaping me into the person he specifically designed me to be, I will be sharing the lessons learned in the process. I do realize that the issue of a person’s weight is a sensitive issue. I want to speak plainly and honestly and most of all without offense. So, please in all of this I pray that what I share will help and not hurt those who are reading and participating in their own journey. That being said let me begin.

As anyone who has battled with losing weight knows it is something that you have to watch constantly.  You take long looks in the mirror and the scale becomes your worst enemy. The more you diet the more you focus on food and the desire grows. It is all about what you can’t have and all the tastes and “yummies” you have grown to love call to you from the pantry. Diet foods are for the most part not as tasty and you find you eat more of these because it is less calories and you are always hungry. I have found that when I begin to add some of the good, tasty things back into my diet for variety, because frankly eating the same foods day after day is a nightmare, I found that I begin to put back on the weight I struggled to get off in the first place. I needed a new way. I needed at new vision. I needed to break the hold food had over me.

Everyone needs food to live. It is God’s way to be hungry and then be filled. He has made food available for us to grow and flourish. Look at the Garden of Eden and all the variety He gave to Adam and Eve to enjoy. Through the Bible and books on nutrition, I have been learning a great deal about who I am and the person God wants me to be on the inside and on the outside. Now I know that only the inside matters that when you are right with God on the inside, you need to be happy with the outside. 🙂 Let’s think about that for a minute, I really feel that this is a lie that Satan is trying to get us to swallow. God does want our hearts, and minds to be in tune with Him and be spiritually healthy, however I am learning that God wants our bodies to be healthy as well. God wants all of us, inside and out. God cares about every facet of us. He created me and He wants me to strive to be all I can be for him. If my body is hindering me because of what I have done to it, a change needs to be made.

I have been reading “The Weigh Down Diet” by Gwen Shamblin for about three weeks. One of the first principles she teaches is to only eat when you are hungry and stop just as soon as you begin to feel full. Wait to eat until you are really hungry and then choose something to eat. It begins by learning to recognize the the hunger/full indicators that God has so beautifully put inside every person.

This morning as I was praying, God took me to Phillippians 4:11-12. “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.”  I never really looked at these verses before in this way. God wants me to be content in Him where ever I am at this moment. He wants to fill me and be all that I need, and He wants me to know what it is like to be hungry. He is taking me to a place where I must rely on Him fully. If I trust Him enough to save my soul and give to Him my life, I must be willing to give to God my next mouthful also.

In my own heart, I have decided to give my food, hunger and need to the Lord. I am going to wait until I am hungry only then will I eat and stop when I am full. This will be my goal for today. I will honor God with my eating by letting Him let me know when I am hungry. When I struggle today and want to eat when I am not hungry, I will take him my heart and body and cry to Him for help. God made this body. He knows it inside and out and today I will give it to Him. I know I may struggle in the future, but at this moment I choose to draw close to Him.

As God continues to teach me, I will continue to share with you every week. I will pray for each of you in your journey. Blessings.

13 thoughts on “My Weight Loss Journey Begins…

  1. Great post Amy! 😉

    ya will be in my thoughts and prayers as you go on this journey! I know ya have a very good Cheering group to back ya up! 🙂

  2. I know weight loss can be very difficult. My father, mil, brother and sister have all struggled with this over the years. It sounds like you are really on the right track and have the right perspective. I’ll be praying for you.
    Toni

  3. Thanks, jel. I do need the prayers. 🙂

    Toni, I am glad you dropped by. Thanks, also for the prayers. I want to do this in a way that will honor God. Blessings.

    Paula, Thanks, It is great to “see” you. I have been praying for you and your family. I hope the new things you are trying will give some great results. God bless.

  4. You are so right. I am personally trying to get my weight issues under control before they get completely out of control. And the more I focus on what I can’t eat, the more I eat! The scale, which is NOT my friend, has been going up instead of down. And I, too, realize, my focus has to be on Him.

    I felt Him encouraging me to taste and see that HE is good. That He can satisfy me more than food if I will turn to Him for my comfort.

    I will be praying for you on this journey you are taking with Him. I know that He will show you how you CAN do all things through Christ who gives you strength!

    Love and blessings,
    K 🙂

  5. I know God cares about all the details of our worlds…and I know He cares for you. Because you are so precious and dear to His heart. May you find complete peace in knowing that any journey He takes you on, will be blessed and bring you closer to Him.

    I am praying for you Amy knowing that you are seeking His will on purpose.

    Dear Heavenly Father You know Your precious daughter and You hear her heart, please whisper in her heart that You love her and that You will provide the strength, and the perseverance for this journey. We love you Lord, thank you for never leaving us!-Amen

  6. For this moment….that truly is what our lives should and must consist of isn’t it…this moment in Him, this moment of turning to Him…the NOW…this is where eternity and time intersect, spirit and flesh connect…this moment. Thank you for this post. and for the amazing poem in your birthday post to Gordon…that was imcredible!

  7. Amy,

    Thanks for sharing this glorious walk with us. Giving everything back to Him glorify’s Him and edify’s us.
    I am going to join you in this walk. Your sharing is such an encouragement.
    I’ll be praying for you Sis.
    In Love (aka Jesus Christ),
    Annette

  8. Kimberly, Thanks for all the encouragement. I have been struggling with the same issues you are. Shifting my focus away from food and on to Him is something I have had to do. I never really looked at losing weight as a spiritual battle before. I am learning to trust God in this area of my life too. We can do all things through Christ. Thanks also for your friendship. I have been blessed by knowing you. 🙂

    Nicole, I have been searching the Scripture to find exactly His purpose for me right now. He has been revealing Himself to me. I am so grateful for all the prayers. I know I can trust Him for strength in the days ahead. Blessings.

    Jadasgigi, Thanks so much for stopping by. I finding that when I trust Him, his peace is filling me. I know He will continue to be near to me. I am learning so much about Him and what He has for me.
    I found that poem about a year ago. It touched me so much. I am so thankful to have such a wonderful husband. He is truly God’s best for me. 🙂

    Annette, I thank you for the prayers. I am glad to be sharing with all my new friends. It is all about God and what He can do in us. I am thankful for the journey and His leading. Blessings.

  9. Amy –
    I wish you the absolute best on this journey! I know it’s hard work. I am working on losing a few pounds but mainly just trying to make healthier choices in life and make those choices part of my life in the longrun.
    It might be fun if you post the link to that website where we can calculate a healthy weight for our heighth – I’m curious!

  10. Dionna, Thank you for your encouragement. I plan on sharing the site with everyone tomorrow. I am making choices that will help me to be healthier for the long haul also. I will be praying for you as well. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

