The Wall

As we look through history there are many famous walls or barriers.  The Great wall of China is an awesome sight to behold from all the pictures I have seen. It also has been featured in many movies and documentaries. It is a wall of beauty and magnificence. One of the wonders of the world that is amazing in its construction and ingenuity.

Yet, there are other walls that stir in us a feeling of anger or sorrow. I can’t imagine how it must have felt to those who were separated at the time of the building of the Berlin wall. Families upon countless families were separated by every brick. I can almost hear the cries and even screams of those who were pulled away from loved ones not to be able to have any contact with them and knowing deep within your heart you may never see them again. It was a joy to witness the documentary and news footage of the barrier covered in graffiti  being broken down.  It was wonderful to see this wall that was once impregnable now removed and new hope springing forth.

How often in our own life do we construct barriers of our own? and What causes us to build walls to separate us from those who we love and love us? It could be fear of being hurt or our own past failures. Or perhaps, it could be a lack of confidence or fear of new failure.  Several factors come to mind as I ponder why we build walls of self protection around ourselves.  In Ephesians chapter 3, God’s Word tells us how Christ has quickened us and that he loved us so much that he made a way for us to have a new life through his Son, Jesus Christ. He has made a way for us by faith in him. We do not work for it, but believe it by faith. 

So often I see people who do not know who they are in Christ. They have accepted his gift of salvation by faith, but they live defeated, unhappy lives. Due to fear and failure the walls around them are built higher and higher. Maybe you find yourself in this situation.  How do we stop the cycle? 

In Ephesians 2:13-14, we read, “But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ, For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us.” Just as Jesus broke down the wall so we would be able to reach to God through what he did on the cross, he can also break down the walls of our own making.  Do you have fear? These verses tell us that he is our peace. Do you feel hurt or failure in your life? Jesus is near ready to draw us close and be our strength and our success.  We all are nothing outside of the grace of God.  Jesus chose the road of suffering and anguish so we could be free.  If he can break down the wall between us and a holy, righteous God,  He surely can break down our walls of hurt, fear or failures!

The next question is “Will we let Him?”

14 thoughts on “The Wall

  1. Very well said, Amy. This post is one I wish that every Christian could read and really let the truth that is within it set into their whole being. I, too, am saddened by what some people will settle for and pray that I do not fall victim to the same lie. Thank you for writing this….you may have just brought me out of my “blogging block”. Blessings to you sweet friend. You have been quite a blessing to me today:)

  2. Pingback: Until My Last Breath » Casting Our Cares

  3. jadasgigi,Thanks for stopping in. He is our peace! Amen!

    Christy, You have been a blessing to me too. The Lord has been showing me lately the importance of reaching out to those who are hurting. We have the answer to the hurt and heartache in the world. His name is Jesus!!! Thank you, my friend, for your kind words, and also for the link. Blessings to you and your family.

    Steve, Thanks for the encouragement. I appreciate you and Christy so much. 🙂

  4. Hi Amy

    This is another great post and well written and I thank you much!
    Yes I have trouble of pulling out all the nails in my wall, and tearing down my wall of “pride” ! I pray every day that I don’t ever lose my hammer?
    The problem is that I start tearing it down when I get a little relaxed but God is always there to help me and pick me back up?

    B l e s s i n g s .
    R o n .

  5. Bro. Ron, Great to see you. Jesus has indeed done the hard part and paved a way for us. Thanks for your comments as always. They are a blessing to me.

    Corry, Thanks again. Don’t you worry about the hammer God does the breaking. We just have to follow. Blessings to you and your family.

  6. Amy,
    I had not checked your site for a while. Great article and so true.
    God bless you.
    Tim A. Blankenship

Leave a Reply

