The Confidence Factor

As I was growing up my mother was the person who had the greatest impact on my movie and television watching. For the most part I guess you could say, we watched what she wanted to watch.  This is the reason I developed a great love for musicals. She adored them. We would watch them often and she also had the 33′ long playing records for the most memorable ones, and we would listen to them for hours.  There is just something about a person running out on a hillside and bursting into song.  (Some may call this corny, but I happen to love it! 🙂 )  Which brings me to one of my favorite movies of all time is “The Sound of Music”.  I remember the awe I felt as a little girl watching it for the first time. It was fantastic!!!

When Maria leaves the convent to go and work for the Von Trap Family, Maria sings as she travels the song, “I’ve got confidence.” She sings joyfully of how great she will be and how the children will respect her. As she sings her voice gets stronger and stronger and she gets more and more confident in herself and in her abilities.   Then she sees the house how large and looming it is and she stops completely in her tracts, and whispers a prayer,  “Oh, help!” When it was crunch time, she knew where she needed to go for her strength and comfort.

How often I feel that way myself. I find myself running along and thinking that I have the confidence I need to do the massive amount of things I have to do.  Too often the Lord has to stop me in my tracts and show me it is not about the confidence I have in myself, but the confidence I have in Him.  There have been many times lately when I my whispers of “Oh Help!” have resonated through my home, at work, and even at church.  I am thankful we have a God who is patient, kind, loving and especially patient with this child of His.  In my distress I know I am not alone.  He hears and answers my prayers though many times those prayers are prayers of desperation or confession of my own shortcomings that have placed me in the deperate circumstances in which I find myself entangled.

While having my devotions yesterday, I came across this verse in 1 John 5:14-15, “And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will he heareth us: And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.”  When my confidence wavers, I can have confidence in him in all things.  He knows what I need and what is best for me, therefore I need to ask him what his will is for me every day.  God is the only one who is truly worthy to carry our confidence. Over and over He has proved himself true and faithful in my life. I can give him all my burdens and hurts and have confidence that He can carry them without any help from me. 

This is my Confidence Factor. I need not have confidence in any other.

12 thoughts on “The Confidence Factor

  1. How nice to see a post from you again. Yes, if we can only learn once and for all that our strength comes from Him and we don’t have to wait until we’ve used up our own and then call on Him.

  2. Glad to see you again 🙂 I agree with you, Amy. He is faithful…so faithful. And He will sustain you and give you all you need to complete your tasks with complete confidence.
    Did I say I was glad to see you again?

  3. Thanks, Beverly, It is so nice to be missed. 🙂 Hopefully, I will begin posting regularly again. I wish I could learn from my mistakes the first time too. I am so glad I have a great God to lean on when I am weak.

    jadasgigi, I have been overwhelmed with life in general lately. Thank you for your comments over the last few days. You have been an encouragement to me. Thanks for missing me too. 🙂

    Christy, Thanks so much for coming by. It is great to “see” you too. I have missed our chats. I am indeed glad that God is faithful. I have needed his strength over the last month. Oh, yes! You did mention it, but it’s nice to hear it again. 🙂

  4. Amy you did it again.

    Good post, and I will add a verse to I John 14-15 . I, to, put my confidence in God because He always fulfils his Promises!
    Psalms 118 v-8 says ” It is better to trust in the Lord , than to put confidence in man “!

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  5. Excellent verse, Ron. Thanks for adding it in your comment. God is good isn’t He? We can trust him completely and he will not let us down. Blessings to you too.

  6. morning Amy,

    thanks for this post , this is one thing i don’t have is confidence, but Jesus is my Confidence!
    have a great day!
    huggs 😉

    and thanks for the verses, Ron!

  7. I loved that musical. I saw it in theater when it came out (which is ages ago, which makes me feel so old, haha).

    This is a great post and I think many of us struggle with at times. I know I do! Thanks for the reminder. 🙂
    I hope some burdens are being taken off you and God is blessing.

    (((HUGS)))

    God’s Grace.

  8. Dear administration amycloud.wordpress.com, I am assured, that I shall express the general opinion of all visitors and consequently on behalf of everything, I speak you the hugest thanks for creation and maintenance of such remarkable project!
    Thanks!

    As very much it would be desirable to hear something about plans for development of the project.

    P.S. If our help is necessary – address, we always with pleasure shall help you!

Leave a Reply

