When God Grins

There are days, and then there are DAYS! At times here lately, I have felt my world begin turned upside down. Like a kid with a new snow globe, there are days when I feel life shaking me so hard then watching me try to settle back in place. That unsettled feeling seems to linger longer than I would like, and I pray and ask the Father to put all the pieces back the way that He would have them to be. It is in these times, He pulls me closer and says, “Wait and watch what I can do!”

This weekend my sons came home from working at camp for the summer. It was so good to see them and visit. My oldest headed back on Sunday because he works at camp year round. My youngest is home to stay. Since he finished high school in May, after camp he was planning on getting a job locally and earning some money before starting college. Of course, with our life in transition right now I wondered this morning how God would work it all out. Father God has been so faithful to us over the last several months I did not doubt He would work it out for “Youngest” a job, just didn’t know how or where. First thing this morning “Youngest” hit the pavement job hunting. I shared our need with my co-workers, and we prayed God would provide a job for him.  My husband call about 1  1/2 hours after I got to work (shortly after we prayed) and God had provided a job for “youngest” and he was starting in the next 30 minutes. Who can do that but God! When I need a smile from the Father, He whispered, “My child I can do better than that…” and He grinned at me.

As I study the Word of God, I long to know God more. As I pray and seek Him, He has been ready to be found. I am reminded of the story in the Old Testament when God was not to be found in the whirlwind or in the earthquake, but He was to be found as He whispered in a still small voice. I wonder if in the past I have gotten so busy that even If He had spoken in the whirlwind I would not have heard him. He chooses to speak to me when I settle into those quiet moments to look for him. Some days you may feel like everything in your life has shaken upside down. In those times, run to the Father, go to Him in prayer, grab your Bible and read His words. Let the God of Heaven hold you close. Only when you are close will you see His gentle smile and sometimes when you least expect it that smile will turn to a grin. This lets you know, He has everything under control.

“Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”  Psalm 46:10

Leave a Reply

