God’s Promise of an Eternal Home*

Have you ever been in a place where your longing for home was so intense it was overwhelming?  For me it was when my parents dropped me off at college. I was standing in the parking lot watching them drive away, and I felt such a since of loss and loneliness. I was excited about the new things to experience, but I felt, for the first time, very alone. For the Christian, we ought to feel a longing to go to our Heavenly Home even though we haven’t been there. The feelings I experienced as an 18 year old, I believe is even more intense today. As I have grown in my faith, the feeling to be in God’s presence is something I long for. I also have several loved ones I am looking forward to seeing in Heaven, My Grandparents, My Mother, and the babies I never was able to hold here on earth are all waiting on the other side. The Bible tells us that we should hope and pray for the day when we go to Heaven to be with God forever. It will be a wonderful time.

Our Scripture is Revelation 21:1-8. John, the Apostle, wrote about the new Heaven and the new earth that is being prepared for us by God Himself. In the first three verses, we see that John shares with us the wonders of the Holy City. He first comments on the brightness and beauty of the new city. He compares it to a bride coming down the aisle toward her husband to be. God looks at us, the church, in this way. He see our spotless beauty made perfect in righteousness by the sacrifice of Christ on the cross. In the third verse, God proclaims that He will now dwell among His people and we will be living in the presence of our wonderful God. Imagine being able to sit beside Him, talk to Him, and even reach out and touch Him. What a humbling and amazing time that will be.

In the following verses, He lets us know some things that will not be in Heaven: no death, no grief, no crying, and no pain. The cause of all of theses things will be removed. I am thankful that at this time we will never have to fear losing another person, therefore the cause for the pain and grief we feel in our heart when loss occurs will be gone. We never will shed another tear because of the hand of someone reaching out to harm us, or tears caused by our own wrong choices. The effect and the toll that sin has taken on us will all be removed. The consequences of sin and the weight that sin has had in our lives will be gone forever. I am thankful also there will not be any pain. A few years ago, I would have looked briefly at that one and moved on. I do understand a little better what it will be like to not hurt with pain everyday. I also can empathize with those who experience chronic pain on a greater level than I. The fact that there will not be any pain of any kind is a cause for celebration.

In verse 6 we read,” And he said unto me, “It is done. I am Alpha and Ome’ga, the beginning and the end.” In the beginning it was all about God reaching down to man, and in the end it will be God lifting man up to dwell with Him forever. We can look with anticipation for the return of our Lord, and going to the place that He has prepared for us. What a great day that will be! Until then hold on to the promise that one day we will be with God for eternity in a brand new home!

*This is a summary of a Sunday School lesson is based on “Bible Studies for Life” printed by Lifeway Christian Resources. While The main points and focus questions are printed in our Sunday School curriculum. The Commentary on them is based on personal experience and lessons learned from my own life. This is offered to my SS Class members who are unable to be with us due to work or health issues. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

