The Heart of the Matter

“How is your heart?” I have often heard the expression in sermons, Sunday school classes, and from friends. My first reaction to this is to say, “just fine, or it’s all good”, yet there are times when I know in the depths of my heart, it is not “just fine”. Often over the past few days in my quiet time, I have been burdened for those I have come in contact with daily. On at least 3 different occasions, I have listened as they have shared how busy everyone seems to be lately, and I quite agree. We are a busy people. Often, others have said, “If I could just get though this week or month, things will slow down and I will have more time. Circumstances have overwhelmed us, and we seem to be busier than ever before. So in this life that is constantly moving, and we never seem to catch up, how do we cope? How do we keep our heart guarded against the opposition of the devil, crazy circumstances, and others who are constantly grabbing our time and attention? As I was praying this morning, the Lord reminded me of of Matthew 6:33, “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”  It seems like a contradiction doesn’t it. Many would say I just don’t have time in the mornings to spend time with God. When the alarm goes off, I hit the ground running. I have a million things to do today. I will get with God later. Unfortunately, later never comes. Nighttime falls and the head hits the pillow and our thought is I am just to tired, or I will just try again tomorrow. Days pass and our quiet time has suffered. Our time with God is pushed to the side in favor of other things. In Matthew 6:33, we see we need to seek the kingdom of God first. Why? Because God knows everything. He knows before you get up in the morning what you will face that day. He has gone before you in the way and prepared for you to walk it with Him. When we seek Him first, the things we face that day may not change, but how we deal with it will. We need God’s presence to light our path and walk beside us into the unknown. Our heart will be strengthened and encouraged as we walk the day’s path with God at our side. Don’t leave Him behind in your pursuit of things and accomplishments of this life. Because the heart of the matter is this, It does matter how your heart is right at this moment. Is it really good between you and God? Are you walking with Him daily, talking to Him through prayer and letting Him speak to you through His Word? Seeking after God and His kingdom is our part. Look at the 2nd half of our verse today. If we do our part, God will keep His promise and do His part. “…all these things will be added unto you.”  Does this mean we will get everything we want? No.  It means God will provide for all our needs and give us blessings that we cannot imagine. He will work when we see no straight path. He will answer us when we need encouragement. He will strengthen us to do everything we have in front of us for the day. He will clean up our heart and help us to walk in righteousness. So, my friend, How is your Heart?

Leave a Reply

