Stronger Together

“Red Rover, Red Rover send John right over!”  Of all the childhood games I played, I would have to say that “Red Rover” was not my favorite. Probably due to the fact that my hand grip was not very strong. In the game of  “Red Rover”, the line on the other side always seemed to know just the right place to hit to burst through our line. Children often are able to perceive the weakest link fairly quickly and where the line is most vulnerable. Unfortunately, I was targeted far more than I would like to admit. There came a time on the playground when I did what most children do. I grew. I got stronger. So only when I got stronger did the game of “Red Rover” become more fun. I was able to hold on tight. I was able to help my team out to a far greater degree. In those first few years of playing “Red Rover”, I would often wonder “I sure wish I could have some help down here on my end of the line.” Someone who would be willing to stand behind me, and help me hold my spot. Someone who could fortify my position so that I would not be the weakest part of the line. That is not how the game is played.

As in the game of “Red Rover”, I wonder if we have the same mindset  in the church. We band together to stand strong, but we are never hit where we stand the strongest. We are hit in the places where we are the weakest, and the most vulnerable. The Bible states in Romans 15:1, “We then that are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak, and not to please ourselves.” Often times we go to church and sit in our place, worship through song and message, fellowship with our fellow believers, or participate in the ministry God has placed us. These are all good things and we should be active in our churches and serve as God intends us to, but do we take the time to really see our fellow brothers and sisters  in Christ? Do we recognize the signs of one who is struggling? Do we pay attention to those who are trying to put on a good front, but in their eyes we see their pain? It is in these moments that we need to build them up in their faith. We need to take time to pray with someone who is crying in the bathroom, or mentions their frustrations in passing. If you are late for the service or singing in the choir, so what, it would be so much better to take hold of those “God divined” moments and bear up a brother or sister in Christ. We need to build each other up in our “most holy faith”. It is time to be proactive in our worship and our faith by putting our hands together and hanging on against the attacks from the outside. We can be so much stronger. We can be stronger together!

“Bear ye one another’s burdens and so fulfill the law of Christ.” ~Galatians 6:2

May God bless you in the journey,

Amy

2 thoughts on “Stronger Together

    • Thanks, Bro. Tim. I agree. We often have tunnel vision when we get to church with all that needs to be done. It is all about being the church not the activities of the church. 🙂

Leave a Reply

