Another Bend In The Road

One of my favorite lines from the movie, Anne of Green Gables, is “There is always another bend in the road.” The road I have traveled over the last 8 months has been one bend after another. About the time I get used to the path in front of me, another curve full of surprises looms ahead, and I wonder what new experiences I will have to face head on. I will say this last few months there has been some major changes in our family unit. My oldest son after graduating from high school began working at summer camp from memorial day through the last week of July. We then began focusing on getting him ready to enter college which is almost 7 hours away. The emotions that have gone along with all of this have been at times overwhelming. I am so happy and proud for him and all his accomplishments, but I sure do miss him. My youngest son began dual enrollment at a local college this semester so our homeschooling adventure has been  kicked into another gear. So life as we know it has drastically changed.

I am a planner by nature. To quote, Hannibal from the 1980’s show the A-team, “I love it when a plan comes together.” Surprises do not work very well in my daily routine. I wish I could say that I have learned the lesson of going with the flow or bends in the road of life, but I just haven’t achieved this yet. I wish for a moment that the road would spread out in front of me straight as an arrow with no curves, rocks to climb over, or hazards to avoid. This moment passes, and I realize that without the bends in life’s road there would be no variety. By seeing everything ahead of me would probably be even more scary. With the Lord by my side and a lantern to light the few feet in front of me, I press on. I let the Word of God be “a light unto my path” as it states in Psalms. Though there are many bends in the road ahead I have a blessed hope that the Lord will be with me every step of the way.  Perhaps you are struggling today not being able to see what will happen in the next few days or maybe the next few hours. Remember God is there no matter what you may face today. Be thankful for the bends in the road because God may be using them to grow your faith and develop a deeper relationship with him. The closer we are to Him the more ” the Light of the World” will illuminate our path. You may be climbing over some rough terrain on your path today. Take heart and press on for these moments will pass. Together we can move forward and when we look back on where we have been we will see that we have overcome. May God bless you today in the journey!

 

5 thoughts on “Another Bend In The Road

Leave a Reply

