Expect the Unexpected

“Things don’t always turn out the way you plan,” is a line from one of my favorite movies. I was thinking about this today as I sit in my recliner with my feet propped up.  I am a planner by nature. When I get up in the morning, I think about all the things that need to get done that day. I schedule in my mind how long it will take me to do each particular task. I make long mental to do lists, and often write them down so I can have the opportunity to cross off the tasks when they are completed. Perfectionist, You may ask? and you would be 100% correct. I just can’t help it; that’s how I roll. 🙂  Even the best of planners have unexpected things happen on a daily basis that throw the to do list out the window. Things carry from one day to the next, so there are days when you just have to let it go.

Here lately, I have the unique perspective of having my daily routine turned completely upside down. My to do list now only consists a few things. 1. Stay put and keep your feet up. 2. Get Well Soon! Expansive I know. If you could see my face right now, you would know that I am smiling and throughly tickled with myself. It’s not that I am upset with my circumstances. It is that  I am learning to take them at face value that it is what it is for me right now. Would I rather be up doing for my family? Of course, Yes, but that is not what God has for me to do right now. I know that this is a part of God’s will for me. Will it always be this way for me? I don’t think so, but I know that whatever I am going through God is with me. He has answered so many prayers for me. He is teaching me so much through this time in my life. I have learned that I can practice patience, and rely on God’s strength rather than my own. God is also teaching me to rely on others to do things for me. I think most women for the most part want to be a “Superwoman” aka “SuperWife”, “SuperMom”, “SuperCo-Worker”, “SuperMinistryWorker”. and “Super______”.(You can fill in the blank.) We want to do it all! Didn’t the Proverbs 31 Woman do it all? Isn’t it spiritual to do it all. I am learning that I can’t do it all. God doesn’t want me to “Superwoman”. He wants me  to follow Him, and be submissive to His will for me today.

I have shared this to say to you that even with my overwhelming schedule 🙂 I am learning also that days like this can also bring the unexpected. An unexpected phone call to let me know that prayers are being offered up for me. I received some flowers from the church where I work that were a blessing to me. Cards that I have been receiving every week from my cousin have been an encouragement. Packages from family and friends have made me feel loved and uplifted.  Even a hug from my 15-year-old while I was typing this post was an unexpected blessing. I could list so many more things that have happened over the last several weeks that I would love to mention, but I wouldn’t have enough room in this post. I know that no matter what you are facing right now God can send you unexpected blessings in the middle of it all. He knows what is best for you and for me, so I am going to continue to expect the unexpected. It happens more often than you may realize.

Blessings to you all!

9 thoughts on “Expect the Unexpected

  1. Jel, I am still healing. I cannot put any weight on my left foot for at least 10 weeks. I will go back on March 20th to have more x-rays and see if it has healed enough to put weight on it. Then they will evaluate to see if my right foot will have to have surgery or if the ligaments have healed in a way to keep my ankle in the socket. So I still have a ways to go. Thanks for all the prayers. Blessings.

  2. Sigh. I am right smack in the middle of “I just can’t do it all.” Grrrrr…frustrating to the prideful part of me that WANTS to be able to do it all. 🙂 I needed to read here the reminder again that I can NOT do it all (He was speaking that to me somewhere else, too.), BUT also the tender reminder God is with me – right here in the middle of it all.

    So sorry to read here that you were in a car accident! Praying for you as you rest and heal. I am sure God does have all kinds of things He wants to show you and say to you while you have to sit still. 🙂

    Blessings,
    K

  3. What a great attitude, Amy. Thank you for encouraging me through your response to your trials. I’m so sorry about your accident. May God heal you quickly and fully. It sounds like you’re leaning hard into Him . . .

    Thanks for your encouragement on Gracereign, too!

  4. So sorry to hear of your accident!! I hope and pray you are recovering fully! None of us can do it all…can we…sometimes we just have to let go and let God…..hugs!

  5. Amy, we hope you are doing well and are fully recovered.
    We like to ask you about Grandpa Ron and how he is doing. Could you give us an update by e-mail? Thank you so very much!

    Love and (((HUGS)))

    God’s Grace.

Leave a Reply

