Follow the Signs

We were down visiting the National Wildlife Refuge at St. Mark’s, FL. below Tallahassee. On the way back home, All my guys weren’t feeling very well. My hubby asked me to drive so I heartily agreed. I was almost through Woodville when I remembered I would have to drive through downtown Tallahassee at approximately 5:00 p.m.   I thought maybe it wouldn’t be too bad on a holiday, and I have been in worse traffic than this so with a prayer on my lips, and the pedal to the metal I forged ahead.  My “GPS” (Greater Passenger Seat) was resting so I didn’t want to disturb him.   I remembered the turn that had to make veered to the right so I began praying that I would see the sign that pointed in the right direction.  What would happen if I missed my sign? There were other ways to get home from where I was, but it would have taken extra time. A wrong direction would  put me way out-of-the-way of where I wanted to go.  In my mind’s eye I could see and hear Bugs Bunny, ” I should have made that left turn at Albuquerque.”  I turned down the radio so I wouldn’t be distracted, and I carefully focused on the road ahead of me.  I kept praying for the Lord to help my ability to see and follow the right signs home. I am happy to say I didn’t go the wrong direction, and we made it home in a timely fashion.

Thinking about this now, I wonder how often I journey down life’s road, and fail to see the signs the Lord has placed in my path. More often than I would like to admit, I am  easily  distracted by things. Life gets noisy, and I fail to reach out to the Lord.  If I really want to see and know what path the Lord has for me to follow today, I need to take time to slow down, focus on the path, and quiet my spirit. Having a daily quiet time is a crucial part of my day. God has a new and fresh road map for me. He wants to illuminate the day’s path for me, and if I want to see the signs He wants me to follow, I have to be looking for them. I learned Psalm 119:105 as a kid, and it still rings true in my life as an adult. It reads, “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” If you want to follow the Lord, You must look for Him every day. Talk to Him, and let Him speak to you through His Word.  You will not go in the wrong direction, or be turned around by journeying with Jesus. You won’t waste the precious time the Lord has given us going in circles trying to get back to Him. Stay the course and you will joyfully find your way home.

“A man who walks with God always reaches his destination.” ~ Unknown

4 thoughts on “Follow the Signs

  1. I, for one, am so thankful for God’s patience with me – to lead me where He wants me to go, and to gently take hold of my hand in correction when I’m going the wrong way.

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Amy. It’s nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

