Before You Ask…

Have you ever found yourself in a situation when you wanted something badly? It is not a big thing, or something that will make the world a better place.  It’s just a “it would so nice if this would happen” moment. Let me share such an experience with you.

I had been saving some money toward a new dining room table and chairs. One by one my chair were breaking beyond the point of repair and my table top contained a permanent maker doodle by a young man who will remain nameless (because it was done accidentally, of course). So whenever I had a little extra, I put it in the dining room fund envelope. I was looking at furniture stores in my spare time trying to decide which one would look the best and be the most affordable. I scoured every sale paper waiting for just the right fit for my room and to match the cabinet that my husband and dad had built for me several years ago. The week after Christmas several stores were having end of the year sales and I had invited my sweet in-laws for an after Christmas celebration. I found the perfect set and Gordon and I had saved enough to purchase it. (Great deal, by the way!) I did think and pray on it for a day or two just to make sure I had peace about this one because it was an important purchase for me.  I felt I could go forward with this so I stopped by the store to buy it and have it delivered to my home. After the transaction was complete,  the saleslady said that my table and two chairs would be delivered. I had purchased 6 chairs, but she said that they only had two in the warehouse and the other 4 chairs would not be delivered for two weeks. She asked me if I wanted to go through with the purchase. I was disappointed, but told her to go ahead and then wait and deliver everything  together when all the chairs were in and ready to go. 

I will admit I went home with a heavy heart. I really wanted to use the new set for the special dinner I had planned with Gordon’s parents. I had been experiencing all kinds of emotions since Christmas Eve when Gordon got so sick and I had been trying to keep upbeat and encouraging. I prayed and asked the Lord to strengthen me and to help me not to be disappointed, but to be happy to share this special time with my family. He really helped me when I needed Him that day. I got out a special tablecloth and began to plan my dinner. It would be OK.

Imagine my surprise when on the morning of the day my in-laws were coming, I received a knock on the door at 8:30 a.m. A furniture truck was in my driveway and the workmen were pulling out a table and not two chairs, but all six chairs. I was so excited. God gave me a wonderful blessing that day. God showed me that even the small thing that I did not ask Him for, He gave to me anyway.  God heard my heart’s cry and showed me that the desires of my heart mattered to Him. I felt the love of my Heavenly Father in a very real way. In all that was going on in my life, He gave me an extra ounce of his goodness and love. He took the time to say, “I love you, my child.” In this moment, He whispered, “I just care so much about you.”

The verses that came to my mind are in Ephesians 3:17-20, “That Christ may dwell in you hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love. May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; and to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God. Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,”  He loves us so much and wants us to experience the fullness of who He is. God wants us to know His love in such a real way that it overcomes us, and we just have to stop and bask in his goodness. I feel He also wants us to share this love with other believers. I know He is a God who can do “exceeding abundantly above”.  He responded to my heart before I could ask or think. He is ready to do that for his children. God loves us just that much.  I have trouble comprehending that kind of  love, but He still wants me to try to comprehend it. Christ wants us to know that He offers this kind of love to us all.

What are you thinking of, but are afraid or reluctant to ask God for? Go ahead and ask Him!

 He knows what you are thinking anyway. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Before You Ask…

  1. I loved this post! Situations like this go straight to my heart. Some tangible evidence of God’s care of those things that are precious to us just means so much!!

    Thanks for sharing this. It was so encouraging to read!

  2. Hello Amy, Thank you so much for visiting me. Your posts are always encouragement to me. Its been too long since I have been here to visit you! Today was a treat. His love is SO amazing…its a theme that surrounds me…and boy do I love it!

    May you feel blessed today and live fully in His love for you!

    On Purpose
    Nichole

  3. Wendi, thanks so much for stopping by. His loving care is wonderful gift and one we should treasure. I hope you continue to have a blessed week.

    Thanks, Denise. Welcome to Byway Blessings. I am glad you were encouraged today.

    Nicole, I have enjoyed your last few posts on marriage. They have been right on. I appreciate the encouragement you share. God’s love is overwhelming, isn’t it. blessings.

    Beverly, He does bless us and is so gracious to me even when I don’t deserve it.
    Gordon has been feeling better. He is getting adjusted to his meds and his shoulder is much better. Thank you so much for all the prayers and concern. I appreciate it so much. Blessings.

  4. I’m so glad that you could have your new dining table set to entertain your in-laws! I know exactly how you feel – I’ve been slowly setting my pennies aside for a new couch. And I know I will have a huge grin on the day I finally get it. 🙂

  5. Amy,
    What a blessing especially as we had the privilege of sitting in those chairs. The best part though was the meal. God is so good to all of us. So much better than what we deserve.
    Love You
    Daddy-in Law

  6. jadasgigi, that is so true. His love is overwhelming and I am so glad he loves me.

    innerfulfillment, Welcome to byway blessings. It does give you joy to save and then find the perfect addition to your home. Thanks so much for stopping by. come back anytime.

    Dad C, It was a pleasure to have you at our house as always. I agree that God is so good.

    Bro. Tim, thanks for coming by. God bless you and your famiy also.

  7. LOVED this post Amy! I love the reminder that God already knows our thoughts. I just keep praying that my thoughts will align with His . . . that I embrace His will through my prayers. I need that desperately.
    Blessings,
    Cherie

Leave a Reply

