Bacon and Bits

I live in a small town. I realize that there are those who love the city and all the perks that city life entails. I am glad to say however that I like living in the country and serving the wonderful people the Lord has given me to minister too.  Today, as I was standing in line at a local restaurant waiting to order, I realized that this was the day for the annual hog show in our town.  I don’t know how I missed this fact. I had been wondering why the restaurant was overly crowded for a Monday.

This restaurant has two dining areas: one is toward the back and enclosed so it can be partitioned off for birthday parties and special events and a large open one up front. Five days a week at lunch the back one is open for overflow because this is a very popular place to visit for lunch. This place always serves good food and more often than not you will see one or more of your friends any given day of the week. It was in all of my contemplating that I saw a sign over the counter. “If you are with the hog show, please sit in the front dining room.”  How funny is that.  I think they were afraid to coop these individuals up in the enclosed dining area. 🙂 I admit this cracked me up. This could only happen in a small town.

How often I wonder do we tend to do this in our churches? Do we approach with open arms those that may look different than what we are used to? I often wonder how many snap judgments we make when someone sits down in our church. Do we try to change the outside of this person without taking time to find out what is in their heart?  Jesus himself chose to spend his time with publicans and sinners showing them how much he loved them. In my case, I am glad Jesus chose to be with me rather than turn up his nose at my sinful condition.  I think it’s time to start looking deeper into our hearts and check our motives. Our churches show be a place where people are loved and made to feel at home in the presence of God. Sometimes I think we even get territorial about the section we sit at in our church. We should get to the place when every place in our sanctuaries and our hearts are completely open to everyone.

I wonder what reaction we would have in our churches if we put up a sign, “Welcome Everyone! Please sit any where you would like!”

*Hey, Friends. Just wanted to give you all a shout out and a quick update on the Clouds. Gordon is doing some better. We are still working on regulating his blood pressure. He has had some good days and some bad days.  His leg is better and We are working on our diets. He goes back to the doctor on Wednesday for a check up. For all those who have kept us in your prayers, I wanted to say, “thanks.” I have felt them. Also Thank you for all your concern. It means so much to have friends and family who support you in times of difficulty. May God bless all of you as you have truly blessed us!

**Gordon has updated everyone on his health issues on his blog. Blessings.

17 thoughts on “Bacon and Bits

  1. Amy,
    I’m so sorry that I haven’t kept up with all that is happening with your family. I’m glad to hear that Gordon is doing better.

    Please know that you and your family will be in our prayers.

    Be blessed, my friend–
    Christy

  2. Amy,
    I am so glad you provided the link to your husband’s blog so we could read the update. My goodness! I am so sorry about all that he and your family have been through. I am so glad that he is doing better. I will pray for his blood pressure.

    And you are so right in your post. Just imagine how full our churches would be if we indeed would love everyone just as Jesus loved us!

    Blessings, friend!
    Love and prayers,
    Kimberly

  3. As you said, it could only happen in a small town. I love it. It does indeed strike a parallel to our behavior in church. While it’s amusing in the restaurant, not so in the church.

  4. Christy, I do appreciate all the prayers. You are in our thoughts too.

    Kimberly, Thanks for your concern and prayers. I surely have needed them. I appreciate your friendship and I am praying for you also.

    Beverly, I agree. lol. I hope all is well with your family.

  5. Amy,
    God bless you. I too love country living, as I am living now, and that is how I grew up.
    I am continuing to pray for you, Gordon, and your family concerning Gordon’s BP. I know what that does to a family, and the church he pastors.
    T.A.

  6. I do believe this is an outright case of the greatest discrimination. Someone should point out to Mr. “—–” that hog farmers are a special breed of people who deserve the best of service. He braves the ferocious teeth of the hog and his heavy weight just to assure us of wonderful bacon, ham, porkchops, Hog jowl, pig feet, chitlins, and of course “hog head cheese”
    the greatest delicacy that you can get only from hogs. Maybe someone should call the ACLU and get them involved. So sad to treat a hog farmer with such disdain.
    Trufully, this is alot like christianity in the churches today. Good thought Amy.
    Your favorite Daddy-in-law

  7. My, I had no idea it had been so long since I checked in on you. I’m so glad to hear Gordon is improving and I hope that is still the case. i will keep you all in my prayers. God bless!

  8. Thanks all of you for your kind comments and especially all of the prayers. God’s blessing to each of you.

    Dad, I guess Mr. “c” is under the same impression that the cows in the Chickfilet commercials are, “Eat Mor’ Chiken” lol.

Leave a Reply

