Snow and Cotton

As I was driving to work this morning, puffs of white drifted across my windshield. I was taken aback a moment because it looked like snow. For those of you who are not aware where I live it is quite an unusual occurrence for South Georgia doesn’t normally have snow. When I realized what it was, I laughed at myself for being silly. Someone close by was cutting the cotton from their cotton field.

It’s funny how we sometimes think something is one thing when it turns out totally different than what we thought. God is just like that. When I think I have a certain part of his nature figured out, he up and surprises me with a new part of who He is.  It is then that I realize that I can’t put God in a box like a Christmas present and say this is the only way He does what He does. I am constantly amazed at how wonderful God is. I have had the opportunity to get to know Him in so many ways. I know at times I will have to go through difficult things to find out more about who He is and to receive new glimpses of His nature. I also know that God has proved that in all things He is working out “all things for my good”. (Romans 8:28)

I was watching a movie the other day and the two main characters were discussing why God allows some things to happen. One replied, “Without suffering there would be no compassion.” This is so true. God shows compassion and love when I am hurting, and He gives me the opportunity to show love to others when they are hurting. If I never went through a hard time, I would not know how God could be my Comforter. If I never was betrayed by someone, I would not know how Christ could be “a friend that sticketh closer than a brother”. If I never knew sickness or pain, I would not know how God could be my Healer. If I never lost a parent, I would never know that God could be a true “Heavenly Parent” and bring peace to my heart. The list could go on and on. As I go through this life there will be circumstances that test me beyond what I thought I could endure. Yet in all I know that God is faithful.

I don’t know what you might be going through at this time in your life. I do know that we have a great God who will be the strength you need to face life’s trials, and when you least expect it, He will surprise you in wonderful ways and with blessings you did not think were possible.

14 thoughts on “Snow and Cotton

  1. Hello Amy, these are great truths…for we don’t go through our life for our own good, but for Him…and to bring glory to Him. When we stop and spend just a few minutes to think about His design is it truly just so awesome. You are a blessing, and you are living your life to bring glory to Him, thank you! We are seeking and expecting snow over here…Washington…if I knew it wouldn’t melt I would share some in a box via mail with you! May you know that our God loves you completely and intensly! Have you read The Shack? The box spoke volumes to me about getting God out of the box I tend to put Him…meaning I tend to limit what He can do…because of my expectations…and faith. I love you my friend. Praying for you right now!

  2. Your post reminds me of my drive through eastern North Carolina last month when I saw the cotton fields. I wish I had stopped and taken a photo of them.

    Your truths written about here certainly hit home. I thank Him that He is a God of comfort when the trials come.

  3. Such a great post, Amy!
    This morning my quiet time was kind of pitiful as the snooze button and I are often friends. But then as I read the girls their devotional, the Lord really spoke to my heart from that simple little devotion. I was reminded that He can speak to me anytime…NOT just in a time I set aside as the time He should speak to me. I put Him in a box too often!

    Thanks for this beautiful picture! And for the reminder that He DOES work all things together for our good!
    Blessings,
    K 🙂

  4. Nichole, I am so glad you stopped by. It is about His design isn’t it. I would love to see some snow. As a former Florida girl, I have only seen a dusting of snow probably two times. It would be so much fun to experience it. However, I am not sure about living in a very cold place. I might turn into a popcicle. 🙂 I have not as yet had the opportunity to read “The Shack”. I have heard it is a wonderful read. Thanks for the prayers also. I need them today and everyday. I have enjoyed getting to know you to, my friend. Blessings to you today.

    Toni, I have had a good week. Thanks for asking. I hope yours was equally blessed. I have been enjoying reading all the great tips over at your place.:)

    Beverly, I love to drive around up here and look at all the cotton fields. It reminds me of the verses in the New Testament about the fields being white unto harvest. It is a beautiful sight. Maybe I can take a few this week and give everyone a glimpse of my drive to work. Blessings.

    Kimberly, you have my number on the snooze bar. I hit it once this morning too. It is wonderful how God can and does speak to us anytime and anywhere. He is so good to us. I hope you have a blessed day.

    Vicki, God is good. He has blessed me with such wonderful friends to be encouraged by. I am so glad you came by. Your presence here blessed me. 🙂

  5. Hi Amy,

    You said it right when you said just as you think you got Him figured out He shows us another thing or two about His everloving Grace ! Thanks for the post , your encouragement is very much appreciated ? I am a blessed child and proud of it !

    Blessings.
    Ron.
    BTW—Hope Bro. Gordon and the boys are doing ok !

  6. This is such a good post, Amy. God is SO incredibly BIG anddoes things His own way. Just whe we think we have Him all figured out…He changes the rules, the game, everything. Perhpas more than anything this say Who he is…a God constantly moving and changing…never to be boxed in by mere mortals…Thank Goodness! 🙂

  7. I just wrote on my own blog about how God shines through others during the hard times in life! I love the colors and photo header on your blog.

Leave a Reply

