This Is The Day

I got up this morning and wiped the sleep from my eyes. I began to reflect on the day and what it had in store for me today. I do this every day, yet today holds new significance. Today things have changed. I like change for the most part. It brings variety to life. There is some change I find harder to deal with than others. As I prayed, the Lord brought this verse to my mind. “This is the day that the Lord hath made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.”   The words are true for yesterday, today and tomorrow. He wrote this verse many years ago, and it is still holds a special place for me today. I can choose to rejoice.  

We can choose to rejoice in our Creator, the one who made the day brand new (Genesis 1:31).  We can rejoice in our Savior, the one who brought us out of the pit of sin and established us on the clear and right path (John 17:13). We can rejoice in our Healer, the one who can heal the heart, body, and land we live in (John 16:24). We can rejoice in our God, the one who is ever faithful and will surround us with his love and protection (1 Peter 1:8). God knows every intimate detail of my daily life. He knows and cares what is going on with me this very minute. I need to trust Him and follow Him.

We do not have to let the circumstances of the day steal our joy. Our happiness can be swayed by circumstances and so often does. Our joy should not be affected by the winds of change. It is deep within us placed there by our Heavenly Father. We need to bask in the joy of our salvation, delight in His Word, immerse ourselves in prayer, and glory in day that He has made.

“I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my soul shall be joyful in my God; for he hath clothed me with the garments of salvation, he hath covered me with the robe of righteousness…”  ~ Isaiah 61:10

12 thoughts on “This Is The Day

  1. Amen and amen!!!! 🙂
    Rejoicing with you, friend! I heard a song today be Linkoln Brewster that I had never heard before…I think it was called “This is the Day” or “Today is the Day.” Anyways, it was such an encouragement this morning…as is your post!

    Praying for you!
    Love,
    K

  2. Rejoicing with you!

    “I rejoiced with those who said to me let us go to the house of the Lord!” Psalms 122:1

    ps. I found a black widow spider in our garage out by our shoes!!!

  3. Hi Amy,

    Thanks for the post . It goes well with my thoughts that I wake up with every morning ! I have learned that if I talk to God every morning when I get up and thank Him for letting me wake up and then ask Him to guide me this day that He has given me , that my days mostly go smooth ! I thank Him for the last four days because I have felt much better than usual ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  4. Kimberly, I had a great day yesterday. I really felt closer to the Lord. I could feel his strength. Thank you for your willingness to follow his leading and encourage others to do the same. I have not heard that song. I will check it out. I hope your day is a great one. Blessings.

    Nichole, Amen! That verse is a good one for this post. I am rejoicing with you too.
    I hope you managed to squash that “sucker” flat!!! :0

  5. Ron, Glad to see you are feeling better so you can visit again. I have missed your company. Our posts seemed to go together yesterday. Our great minds were thinking alike. 🙂 Blessings.

  6. Change is scary, especially what we’re seeing on the national level. These are great verses to reflect on – I’m going to go write them in my prayer journal!

  7. Nephos, I am glad we serve a great God too. I hope all is well with the family. We look forward to seeing all of you at Thanksgiving. 🙂

    Kim, Welcome to Byway Blessings. I am glad you stopped in for a few moments. I agree that change is scary. I thank the Lord who has the power to overcome our fear with His love. I am glad the verses helped. Come back anytime.

    Beverly, Thanks for the visit. We all need comfort during this time. I am glad we can find it in our Savior. Blessings.

  8. the Linclon Brewster song is awesome and we have sung it at church..it gets stuck in you mind and goes over and over…that’s a good thing for me. 🙂 Everyday is a day he has made and He is in control of. thank you, Jesus!

  9. I am very behind in reading blogs lately and I just read this post—so very nicely written, Amy. The circumstances of life are really of no consequence when we completely embrace who we serve and realize His unchanging love for us. Change is a great time to rejoice–we can be confident that the One that created us never changes!
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

Leave a Reply

