It’s All About Connection

I hope everyone has had a great weekend and ready to dive head first into the week ahead. The weekend has been especially busy. Last week my husband and boys were plagued with fevers and a cold, but by the weekend they were all feeling a little better. My husband took my youngest to a football game for a special treat, and I had the pleasure of hanging out with my oldest. We had a great day! Clay got a guitar a while back and on Saturday we hit the store and he bought new picks, strings, and an instructional CD and book. I showed him how to tune the guitar with the keyboard, and showed him some chords to begin practicing. I took guitar lessons in high school for a few years, and Clay has wanted to learn an instrument for a while now so it seemed like a good fit. We had a lot of fun together. We are planning on practicing together in the afternoons after school. After awhile, we kicked back and watched a movie with popcorn. What a treat! It is amazing to see how much he has grown over the past year.

It’s kind of funny when I think about it. I have not picked up the guitar in quite some time. It’s been years, in fact. It has been in a place wrapped up unused. When I stop to think of why I put it to the side in the first place, I feel kind of bad about it. Basically, Life got busy. My kids were small and needed a lot of attention. New projects found their way into my life. I put it aside to make room for things that were more important at that time to me. I could have made time for it. I just didn’t. Now I am trying to reconnect with a part of me. I am in the process connecting on a new level with my son.

When life gets busy, I have the tendency to put things to the side. I know that there are certain things that have to get done. Cooking, cleaning, laundry, helping my kids with various projects, and blogging (most necessary) 🙂 are just a few of these things. However, there is one thing that I cannot afford to put to the side and that is my time with God. Spending time with God should be at the top of my priority list. Bible reading and prayer are absolutely on my must do list. If this area is lacking, I tend to have difficulty with the rest of the list. I have trouble with productivity, and irritability. When I am full of Christ and I am “bumped” with circumstances, Christ will flow out. When I am full of myself and “bumped”, a whole lot of ugly comes out. I have to have that time with God to reconnect with Him every day. I want to stay focused on Him so I will know when He is trying to speak to me.

Perhaps, you have something that you used to do that you have set aside. Maybe it is time to reconnect with that part of you. I hope more than this that spending time with God is at the top of your list of things to do today. When we put him first, everything else tends fall into place. Maybe you won’t have time to do that 5th load of laundry or other projects that you had planned, but when circumstances make their way into your life you have can have peace in your heart knowing that you started in the right place: at the feet of Jesus.

“But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper. ~ Psalm 1:2-3

12 thoughts on “It’s All About Connection

  1. Dear Heavenly Father I have the awesome privelege and blessing to lift up your daughter Amy in prayer today. You know her heart, for you created it, so please protect it. I don’t doubt for a minute that you can do it! She needs the strength and courage only you can provide to face her giants. We love you Lord and it is in the precious name of your son we pray-Amen

  2. Amy,

    It is so hard to find the time to do it all. Your boys are blessed to have a mom like you that is willing to take time out just for them. That time will be forever a part of them. I am so glad there are young believers that are willing to give everything to and for Him, such as yourself.

    I am blessed just to have visited your post today,
    Annette

  3. Nicole, Thank you so much for the prayers. I appreciate it very much. Blessings.

    Toni, I’m glad you stopped by, and you’re welcome. This topic has sure been on my heart a lot lately. Blessings.

    Annette, Thanks for commenting. I have enjoyed getting to know you through our blogs. I do struggle with things, but I have been trying to focus more on my Lord. He is showing me things to do that will help me to continue to strengthen the bond with my children and all my other relationships, too.
    Blessings to you today.

  4. That is so awesome that you are connecting with your son in a new way! And I am impressed that you are familiar with the guitar…I am sure that Dylan wishes that I was a bit more familiar with it! 🙂 But we make a good team….he plays while I sing…that, I can handle!! Enjoy your time with your son 🙂

  5. I used to play guitar a bit…but alas…that has gone by the way for me as well. its nice that you can hang with your son while he discovers it. I know I need my time with my Lord..mornings are best for me bu tany time really is a good time for me to turn to Him. I agree with you that when I have not been with HIm and am “bumped” nothing but ugly comes out. I need Him every moment.

  6. Thanks for this reminder. I haven’t read in a long time and that includes reading the Bible. Not good!

    I hope your family is feeling much better.

    (((HUGS)))

    God’s Grace.

  7. Jadasgigi, I need God so very much every day. I want his goodness to flow out of me so I must fill up with Him every day. Thanks so much for stopping by for a visit. Blessings.

    Corry, There have been times in my life when I struggle with things too. I will be praying for you. Gordon and the boys are better but alas the “crud” hit me last night. I sure could use the prayers. Blessings.

  8. Hi Amy,

    My coffee don’t satisfy me unless I talk to Him first thing every morning ,it makes for a better day starting off ! Hope you get to feeling better , will be remembering you in my prayers !

    Blessings.
    Ron.
    PS— I just got to keep trying harder with That Deadly Duo ?

Leave a Reply

