I Need A New T-Shirt…

Hi, everyone. I hope all of my buddies that were affected by Fay have survived okay. My thoughts and prayers certainly go out to all who were touched by the storm. We were hit here in my south GA town pretty much head on. We had lots of wind and rain. I think the rain count at this point is approximately 27 inches where I live. We have had lots of flooding also and schools are closed until Thursday due to the massive amounts of standing water. At one point on Saturday and Sunday, they had to close the Highways to the west and east of us because of the creeks flowing over the roads.  My home was without power for appoximately 20 hours.

I was going to post earlier on all of this, but on Saturday night our roof leaked a bit. I found a puddle in the dark at the top of a couple of stairs leading down into our family room. I banged my shoulder and my leg and have been pretty sore for the last couple of days. Thankfully nothing was broken except for the lone candle I happened to be carrying. One of the problems with my misadventure is that the candle had been burning for quite some time and had a large amount of liquid wax all in the top. When I went flying, so did it. Wax went everywhere and I was covered on my arms and legs. My hair suffered an equal fate with wax in it all the way down to my scalp. Boy, was I a sight! Waxy buildup has taken on a whole new meaning for me. All my life I thought it only applied to floors. 🙂

Fay was rough on me for sure. The only thing left for me to do is have T-shirts printed with “I Survived Fay!” It has quite a ring to it.  I also heard this morning on the news that Hurricane Gustav is formulating in the Gulf. I might wait on the t-shirt idea until Hurricane season is over.

16 thoughts on “I Need A New T-Shirt…

  1. Oh, my goodness! So sorry to hear about your fall, but glad you are okay. You are in my prayers for a speedy recovery from your bruises!
    Give your family our love 🙂

  2. Oh, Amy, I read about your mishap on Gordon’s post. I am so sorry to hear abut that. Any fall can be bad. Ron sent photos of the highway under water.

    We had some rain, but we somehow have dodged the bullet once again…no flooding, no wind, just a couple of blustery days.

  3. Thanks, Christy. I appreciate your concern. I am so blessed to have friends like you. Give love to your family as well. Blessings.

    Beverly, Those photos were right down the road from us. They were pretty amazing. I think about 4 cars were washed into Barnett’s creek. I am glad you were safe during the storm. Blessings.

  4. Amy, We were in the Panhandle on vacation when Fay took a turn and headed our way. Unfortunately our 5 day vacation was cut short by 3 days. We were all sad, but made it home before the rain hit. It ended up not being as bad where we had been as they thought…but at least we were safely home.

    I am sorry to hear about your mishap and the flooding. I live in North GA. We’ve gotten some good rain these last few days, but not like you. We need every inch.

    Glad to hear you survived and I love the T-shirt idea!

    Julie

  5. jadasgigi, thanks for your concern. I appreciate it. I think we have more coming with Huricanne Gustav. It keeps shifting closer to us. Blessings to you.

    Julie, I am so sorry your vacation got cut short, but I am glad you are safe. We were on Vacation in Atlanta area when Hurricane Katrina hit Al. and N.O.. We almost had decided to go to Mobile, Al. during our vacation, but couldn’t get peace about it. Thank the Lord for his protection and guidance. On the news we saw later the motel we were going to be staying in downtown had 8 feet of water in it. We went instead to see a Braves game and Stone Mountain. Other than getting wet, we were fine. Blessings to you and your family.

  6. I am glad you were not seriously hurt! How scary. My parents live in FL and they had a ton of rain, but everyone seems to be fine, I don’t even think they lost power thank goodness.
    Toni

  7. Toni, Welcome to Byway Blessings. I am so glad you came by. My parents are in FL., also. They didn’s lose power either. They did have a generator just in case. Blessings.

  8. Hey Amy,
    Thanks for stopping by! Fortunately I think Gustav is going to miss us. I didn’t realize how hard Fay hit your area of GA.
    My dad is from Coffee Co. but I grew up in N. Ga.
    Now we’re about an hour south of Augusta.
    I’ll be back to visit soon!

  9. Amy! I so hope you are all right!
    Next time, just use the wax on your legs, okay? 🙂

    We had a large amount of rain and then some. We are antsy about Gustav, although at this moment we seem to be out of its path, it can turn in the blink of an eye. We may have to leave.

    Wherever it hits, I pray it will do little to no damage.

    Thanks for all your encouraging comments. Kc and I have been talking about heading y’alls way sometime.

    Have a very blessed weekend.
    (((HUGS)))

    God’s Grace.

  10. Good post, Amy. I’m glad God brought us through the storm. I’m also glad the power came back on the next day so that you could wash all of that wax out of your hair. I know you were happy to get rid of it.

    Corry, we would love to have a visit from you and KC sometime.

  11. Cheryl, Welcome to Byway Blessings. I am so glad you dropped in. TS Fay was such a slow moving storm I think is the reason we got so much water.
    We sure needed it. Come back anytime. Blessings.

    Corry, What we do to make ourselves presentable is beyond me. I do try. 🙂 I would love for you to come and see us. Anytime!

    Gordon, I am glad God brought us through the storm also. He is so good to us.

Leave a Reply

