Going For The Gold

I can’t help but imagine how the words “Gold Medal” stirs the heart of every athlete. It is something that they have been striving to attain. The “Gold Medal” is the reason they train for years and years. For those who make it to the podium with top honors glow with the knowledge that they gave it their all and achieved the highest standing in their particular event. I love watching the medal ceremonies. The joy and triumph just radiates off of them and when the anthem of their country plays and their flag is raised high, we often we see tears with the beautiful smiles.

In the Christian Life, My first thought was that we can go for the gold too. God has promised in his Word that there are crowns that we can go for. How often I wonder do we think of gaining these crowns without putting forth the effort that goes with it. When watching athletes, we see only the race, dive, contest, or tumbling pass. We do not see all of the practice, and hours upon hours in the gym lifting weights and training. As I was pondering all of the ends and outs of this train of thought, I was reminded of a verse in Job. “But He knoweth the way that I take and when He has tried me I shall come forth as gold.” –Job 23:10 

With achievement and glory comes sacrifice. It could be sacrifice of time, personal benefits, etc. The glory of the medal is achieved by the effort put into it and the pain and suffering that goes with it. There is a lot of things these athletes have to endure to get to the place where they can rejoice in the accomplishment. I see the same parallels with the Christian walk. Trials are going to come into our lives. Obstacles will be put in our path that need to be overcome. Through this trying process our God is purifying us so we can come forth as gold. He is refining us for better things so we can serve Him better.

I’m sure every athlete that receives the gold medal looks back on all they had to do and acknowledge that it was worth it. I know in my own life I have never been sorry for following God. He has been with me in every trial and is making and molding me into the Christian He wants me to be. Have I every faltered or questioned Him during the process? Oh, Yes! I am only human, but deep in my heart I know what He is doing is for my good so I too can come forth as Gold.

“Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.”  –Hebrews 12:2

“There are some things you have to endure to get to the place of rejoicing.” –Clyde Box

13 thoughts on “Going For The Gold

  1. Hi Amy,
    cool post,
    it is good to bee back, have missed this, I found out that I can go 2weeks without, my pc then i got to have my fix, had to buy a new one 😕

    hope y’all are going well

    huggs

  2. Good post. Our pastor has been away and your children’s minister ended up with speaking duties during his absence. I hadn’t particularly looked forward to his speaking, but he used the Olympics as a springboard for his messages, and they were really good.

    He used Philippians…reaching for the goal. He left us with a lot to think about as you did.

  3. Thanks, jel. We don’t know our limits until they are tested. 🙂 I am so glad you are online again.
    Blessings to you today.

    Beverly, thanks for stopping by. Those messages sound like good ones. It is amazing how we can find strength and encouragement by looking at the things we come in contact with daily. God is so Good.

    SelahV, you are too kind. I am so glad you came by for a visit. I hope all is well with the family. We have been praying for your grandson. Blessings.

  4. Hi! It is so nice to meet you! I am sorry about your adventures with hurricanes! I used to live in Charleston, SC. I do NOT miss hurricane season whatsoever!

    This is a great post. Hebrews 12:1,2 are some verses I have been thinking on a lot lately, too. Especially knowing that I need God to show me the things weighing me down and the sins entangling me.

    Pressing on for the gold with you,
    Kimberly

  5. Thanks, Kimberly for dropping by. Hebrews 12:1,2 go beautifully with this thanks for mentioning that. It is so easy to become distracted with the things of this life. I want to live the life that God has for me without being weighed down with sin. Have a great day. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

