The Boys Are Back In Town…

My boys are finally home and I have had a wonderful week with them. They were gone from our midst for about three weeks. First, they experienced their a week of overnight camp away (5 days). They had a blast being away and enjoying the joys of camp life. Then, after two days of them being back home the boys spent several days with my parents in FL. We got back home from that and with a day of turn-around went to VA. with their Meme and Nana (my husband’s mom and grandmother) being gone for 8 more days. I am so glad to have them back even though we jumped into the school year almost immediately.

We have enjoyed watching the Olympics and I have been amazed at all the events that I have never heard of before. It has been interesting to watch and at almost any time of the day you can find several events to catch up on. I have especially enjoyed the swimming and gymnastic events, but I have also have watched volleyball, beach volleyball, water polo (something new), and diving. We have cheered the USA to the very end. I can’t believe we still have several more days to cheer “the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.” There have been numerous inspiring individual as well as inspiring team events.

A favorite story of mine is the one that came out during the opening ceremony of the Olympics. The small boy that happened to be in the earthquake over there walked in with the delegation from China. This little one crawled out of the rubble then decided to go back in and he pulled out two others. When he was asked why he went back in he said, “I’m the hall monitor. It’s my job.”

In a way, we, as Christians, are called to be the “hall monitors” of the world. When tragedy strikes or in just every day life, we need to help pull people out of the rubble of sin and despair. We can share with them the only one who can heal and make them new,  Jesus Christ. By sharing the love he so richly bestows on us we are doing what God called us to do, our job.

I can’t wait for the events showing tonight. It should prove to be awesome.

“For ye were sometimes darkness, but now are ye light in the Lord: walk as children of Light.”  ~Ephesians 5:8

***In keeping with the theme of the Olympics, My hubby has posted a top ten list on how to know if you’ve been watching too much coverage of the Olympics. If you need a chuckle this morning, pop over to Heavenly Heartburn and give it a look-see. Blessings to you today! 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Boys Are Back In Town…

  1. It’s good to see your post. It sounds like your boys had a great time…three weeks, that’s a long time.

    That’s a good analogy…hall monitors of the world.

  2. I am so glad that you love your children so. They sound terrific. Enjoy every moment you have, and thanks for shiring with the grandfolks, as well. I know how important that is.

    God Bless, Annette

  3. Beverly, They had an awesome time. I hope you are having a great week!

    Sarah, Thanks for stoping by. I loved your comment over there by the way! Too cute. If only?
    Blessings to you.

    Gordon, you are sooooo welcome. Love ya.

    jel, good to see you around to. Is your computer prob. fixed yet? I hope so. I’ve been missing ya.

    Annette, Welcome to Byway Blessings. They are great kids, though they do have their moments. 🙂 Don’t they all at some time or another. Grandparents are “great” people. I’m happy to share. Come back and visit anytime.

Leave a Reply

