Happy #12

It seems like yesterday that I was in the hospital giving birth to my eldest child. It was not yesterday, but actually 12 years ago today. I remember counting the days of my pregnancy. I couldn’t wait to become a mom, yet I was a little nervous about having a living, breathing gift from God in my care. I was sent to the hospital by my mid-wife on Monday morning on July 15, 1996. My baby boy was born 32 hours later at 9:00 p.m. I remembered the amazing love that swept over me as the doctor placed that wiggling, crying baby in my arms as my husband and mother-in-love looked on. My boy is constantly amazing me even today. 

Clay is one of those kids that was born to communicate. He loves people. Even as a toddler in the buggy at the grocery store. He wanted to talk to everyone who passed by. He kept the cashiers entertained constantly. If he saw another child, He wanted to “meet that kid” he would say. He organizes the kids at church in games after the service in the church yard. Clay is definitely a go-get-er, and never at a loss for words.

Clay also has a heart for God. At age 5, Clay called on the Lord to save him. His love for God shines through all he does. During Vacation Bible School, he witnessed to some of the kids in his class and encouraged them to make a decision for Christ. One friend of his made a decision to follow the Lord in baptism since he had already accepted Christ. Clay was so excited; he was practically bouncing off the walls. I was so proud of Clay. I pray that God will keep him safe from worldly influences and continue to work in his heart and life.

For the first time in his life, Clay is not with me on his birthday. He is at R. A. camp.  I am probably more melancholy about this than he is. Nothing gets him down for long and I know he is having a blast today with all the new friends he is making. So if all of you would be so kind as pray for “Mom” and “Meme” (Clay’s grandma) today, We would appreciate it. Meme has never missed seeing Clay on his birthday either. She was there for him when he was born and been there for him every day since.

Thanks for taking the time to let me share with you about my boy. He is the joy of my life. Happy “12th” Birthday, Clay! I pray you have 100 more.

“Lo, children are a heritage of the Lord…”  ~ Psalm 127:3

20 thoughts on “Happy #12

  1. Happy birthday to Clay! and to you, mom. My children are 29 and 31, and I cherish every day and year that we’ve had. What a blessing to have a son who has a tender heart toward God.

    I pray that this next year in his life will be filled with fun and growth in every area of his life.

  2. Beverly, Thanks from Clay and me. He blesses me every day.

    throughthejourney, Welcome to Byway Blessings, and thanks for the comment. Come back anytime.

  3. I was touched by the sentiment of this post. I counsel every day with people who are giving the least to those who matter most. I cherish my sweet family – what a gift. Thank you.

  4. Hi Amy,

    I enjoy sharing in your family to ” The Family Of God ” . I always enjoy both your boys , they are a blessing to me as well and to our church ! I know they will have a blast at RA camp , I know I always did !

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  5. Hope Clay had a great bday. We’re looking forward to those guys coming to see us. VA will never be the same after four Cloud boys hit it! :O

  6. Gordon, I agree our family is a blessing. I am sure they are having a great time. I can’t wait to see them tomorrow.

    Ron, Thanks for your comment. You are a blessing to us as well. We will surely pray for Cole and his whole family.

    Thanks, Corry. I will give Clay your message. We mothers have tender hearts toward our kids, don’t we. Hugs to you also.

    Cameron, VA better watch out, ’cause here they come. I know that they will have so much fun visiting you all. I wish I could stow away in a suitcase and come too, but my job just won’t let me. Thanks for coming by.

  7. To all my Friends:

    Please lift up Cole, Ron Jackson’s grandson, today. He is having exploratory surgery at 10:30 a.m. this morning to try to find out why he has been so sick. If this is not successful, the doctor’s may have to do a liver transplant on Cole. He is only 12 years old. Join with me and lift up this whole family as Taylor, Cole’s sister, has leukemia also. Thank you.

    The link to Cole’s blog and Ron’s are as follows

    http://cole12.wordpress.com/

    http://rrbj.wordpress.com/

  8. Morning Amy,

    Thanks for remembering Cole , and thanks for the prayers and support from our church !

    Please don’t be embarrased but Cole’s other sister Taylor is the one with leukemia .

    Blessings and as soon as I hear from Cole’s mom I will notify every body !
    Ron.

  9. Sorry, Ron. My brain froze up for a moment. I knew that it was Taylor. I changed it in my comment. I guess I was thinking one thing and typing another. Thanks for letting me know. 🙂 We will be praying fervently till we hear from you.

  10. Amy,
    May God bless you. Though I read this two days late for Clay’s B-day I pray he had a great day; and that you did too.
    T.A.

  11. hope Clay, had a great Bday!

    hope y’all have a cool weekend and week to come!

    and what to thank ya both for stopping by!

    huggs 😉

  12. Thanks, Bro. T.A., He did have a great day.

    Me too. Thanks, Jel.

    Jadasgigi, Clay had a grand birthday. Thanks for the well wishes. I have enjoyed visiting your blog. Have a great day.

  13. Happy birthday to your precious Clay! My second son turned twelve just a few weeks ago. It seems like a turning point, doesn’t it? The brink of manhood . . .

  14. Paula, It is amazing to me how much he has changed in just a few months. It is like a turning point. There will twists and challenges ahead, and I pray I will be what he needs to face all these things. “With God all things are possible.”

Leave a Reply

