A Heart of Thanksgiving

Thanks to God for my Redeemer,
Thanks for all You do provide,
Thanks for times now but a memory,
Thanks for Jesus by my side,
Thanks for pleasant, balmy springtime,
Thanks for dark and dreary fall,
Thanks for tears by  now forgotten,
Thanks for peace within my soul,
Thanks for prayers that You have answered.
Thanks for prayers You do deny,
Thanks for storms that I have weathered,
Thanks for pains, and thanks for pleasure,
Thanks for comfort in despair,
Thanks for grace that none can measure,
Thanks for love beyond compare,
Thanks for roses by the wayside,
Thanks for thorns their stems contain,
Thanks for home and thanks for fireside,
Thanks for hope, that sweet refrain,
Thanks for joy and thanks for sorrow,
Thanks for heavenly peace with Thee,
Thanks for hope in the tomorrow,
Thanks through all eternity.
–Author Unknown

When was the last time we just took a moment and said, “Thanks”.

In everything give thanks for this is the will of God… I Thessalonians 1:18 

8 thoughts on “A Heart of Thanksgiving

  1. And I’m thankful you posted. I just read your last comment about the pastor of the church where you work having resigned. I assumed you worked at your own church. That’s what I get for thinking, huh.

    I love the song that you quoted there. I immediately started singing it when I saw it. A few years ago I heard or read someone say that our thanksgiving should be thanksliving. I agree.

  2. Hi Amy,

    Thanks for cranking up a guilty old man and reminding him to give more thanks for our Lord and Savior ? I do every day and I know I should because He supplies my every need ! Sometimes I wonder if He sends me all these little ailments every day to remind me to stay in touch with Him ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  3. “thank you” for leaving a comment on my blog 😉
    You are absolutely right….that we should be thankful in all things and in each day of our life with Christ. There are so many things to be thankful for in each day—if we only choose to see them.
    Blessings to you and your family!

  4. Beverly, to think of this as “thanksliving” is a great thought. Thank you for sharing it with me. I have worked at sister church in our town for about 2 1/2 years now. I have enjoyed it very much.

    SelahV, we should always be ready to give thanks especially with a friend. I’m glad it could be you. 🙂

    Ron, He does supply our daily provisions. I’m so glad He does. I hope you have a blessed week.

    Thanks, Julie. I am so glad you dropped in to “see” me. Blessings to you.

    Jel, Thanks. I saw your picture of the clouds on your blog. I think it is awesome too. 🙂

    Christy, it is no problem. I enjoyed your post. We do need to keep our eyes open and we will see the blessings of God all around us. Thanks for coming by. Blessings to you too.

    KC, I like that quote. It all hinges on our attitude. We can choose to see the blessings of God or ignore them. May we all have the right attitude of thankfulness. Blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

