When you need a Word…

As a child, my parents, Sunday school teachers, and pastors have encouraged me to pursue Scripture memorization.  One of the highlights of my young years was going to a Bible Club every Wednesday in the next neighborhood over from ours. We were taught stories from God’s Word, and lessons on how to follow Jesus. We were taught the plan of Salvation through the verses of the Romans Road (Romans 3:10; 3:23; 5:8; 5:12; 9:10-13).  Scripture Memory was emphasized every week. We were sent home with a cookie and a Scripture verse on a piece of paper to learn for the next week. One of the first verses I learned was Psalm 119:11, “Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against God.”  I also learned Psalm 119:105, “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” They even offered a complete camp scholarship if you learned 300 verses of Scripture. I was encouraged to go for it. I am so glad I had people in my life to encourage me in the study and memorization of God’s Word.

It is because of these early experiences that I am blessed today. There have been times in my life when I needed a word from the Lord. The things we face in this life can catch us off guard and circumstances can overwhelm  us to the breaking point. Have you ever been in a situation where you needed a word from the Lord and your Bible was either in the car or back at home? This is where the Lord began to bring verses of Scripture to my mind when I needed them most. Sometimes it was just a phrase or two of a verse, but a phrase is often sufficient when in tribulation.  I was reminded of this again when I was sitting at my desk quite overwhelmed with a problem, and I found myself really scared. I prayed to the Lord for help, and in an instant the Scripture came, “What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee.” Over and over on that day, when thoughts of fear came, the phrase remained. “What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee.” How thankful I am that He is willing to speak to me where ever I am with words of comfort from His Holy Word.

The Word of God is more than just a book. It is a living testament of a Holy God reaching down to man. The promises are endless. The words are true. God has given to us a guide on how to live this life. We, as a follower of Christ, need to follow his teaching wholeheartedly.  Pehaps you would like to  know more of the word of God. Take one or two verses per week and commit them to memory. You may think that one or two verses a week is not much, but as time goes by you will know more and more the heart of God, and when you least expect it, He will bring to mind a verse that will give you what you need for that moment.  You can ask the Lord to guide you and He will. It doesn’t matter if you don’t know many verses from memory, you can start today. I am glad that God is willing to take us right where we are and move us forward. He does that just because He can, just because He is God.

All Scripture is given by inspiration of God and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.”  ~ 2 Timothy 3:16-17

8 thoughts on “When you need a Word…

  1. Excellent post. I loved this line best.. “The Word of God is more than just a book. It is a living testament of a Holy God reaching down to man. The promises are endless. The words are true.”

  2. Angela, Thanks so much for stopping by. We serve a great God, don’t we? Not only does His Spirit indwell us, but also He has given us His precious Word. Blessings to you today!

  3. Did you learn those verses for Children’s Bible Mission? When I was a girl (a lot longer ago than you) a group of us from my church learned verses for Bible Memory Association. We learned 250 verses. The camp was too far away, so the Florida chapter of CBM let us learn an additional 50 and attend their camp here in Florida. That was a life-changing experience for me. I went and then returned as a camper, then junior counselor, then counselor, and then missionary speaker.

    When my daddy died when I was 22, verses that I had learned as achild flooded my mind and brought comfort to my heart. And I ask myself, “Why am I not memorizing today?” I think I should start over.

  4. Beverly, I think it was. I am wanting to say that the camp was near Plant City, Fl. I went to the camp 3 years in a row and my sister was a counselor one of those years. It was one of the best camps I ever went to. Like you say, it was life changing. They also sponsored a mail in Bible lesson program.
    I have decided to start again as well. You can never know enough about the Word of God. Blessings.

  5. Amy, that camp was Camp Gilead at Polk City, Florida near Lakeland. The lady I spoke about in the post on Loneliness is Miss Edith, who was camp director. What was your sister’s name? When I see her again, I’ll ask her if she remembers her.

  6. Isn’t it amazing to see how God reminds you of those things you need at just the right moment? I am glad I was taught in church to store His Word in my heart. Though I often don’t remember where the verses are found, He is faithful to remind me of the Words.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Hugs,
    Julie

Leave a Reply

