Things To Count On…

As a housewife, I can always count on a few things. Stocks will rise and fall. The ozone layer will probably let more bad stuff in. Global warming will be on the rise.  Summertime in Georgia will be scorching hot. Dirty dishes and laundry will always be the biggest plies in the house.

Since baseball season has begun, I have spent less time at home than I normally would spend. Glen is in the County’s 9-10 year old league, and Clay is in the County’s 11-12 year old league so scheduling, between practice and games, has been a challenge. During this time of year the dish and laundry plies have grown and I have struggled to keep up. In my effort to start fresh this morning I was dish washing before I had to go to work.  As I was washing  one of my glasses, I heard a pop and felt a burning sensation in my thumb…the glass broke and I saw red. The glass sliced the top part of my thumb. The funny thing was when I first picked up the glass I didn’t see a crack in it. Cracks are usually the first thing I look for in a glass. If it has a crack in it, I go ahead and put it aside to keep this very thing  from happening. The only thing I can figure is the pressure of the cleaning process caused the glass to fracture.

Pressure is something we deal with on a daily basis in our lives.  Pressure to make choices, or to do this or that is present whether we want it to be or not. If we say we don’t have stress and pressure in our lives we are living in denial. The pressure will always be there. What we need to do is to find out what causes the pressure in our life and focus on the best way to deal with it. 

Some pressure we bring on ourselves. At times I find, I am my own worst enemy. Taking on to many things at one time will up our stress level. Yes, sometimes it is very hard to say, “No” to someone because 90% of the time the things others ask you to do are “good” things. We must remember to pray and ask the Lord, “Is this the best thing for me right now?” I find that when I fail to pray about what I should do, I often take on too much then I end up popping and lashing out at the ones I love.

Some pressure and stress will come when we know we have not done the right thing and God is trying to clean us up on the inside. We sin and are stained on the inside. We need the cleansing that only God can do. The cleaning up of the heart is not pleasant. It requires scrubbing and getting in all the small places inside.  No one that I know of will want to drink out of a glass that  has spots on the inside. We can’t explain the dirt and grime away by saying, “It really isn’t that dirty; I cleaned up that glass last week.” The cleaning process must happen for us to be pleasing to God. Sometimes the spots can only be seen by holding it up to the light of God’s Word. We must confess to Him our sin and ask to be made clean. He who knows us the best sees the stains and knows the best way to take care of it. Relying on Him and placing our lives in His hands is our only option.

Pressure can be lessened when we put ourselves in God’s hands. He always knows just what to do. In his hands, I find cleansing, rest, and comfort. Healing is available when we pop and fracture. He is the only one who can put it all back together again and make it stronger as if the fracture never occurred. It is God shining in us and through us that will testify of a life, not free from the pressures of this life, but of one who lets the power and the light of God shine forth in the midst of adverse circumstances.

“For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.” 

–2 Corinthians 4:6-7

When the pressure and stress of this life is overwhelming, I can count on my Heavenly Father for He holds me in His Hands.

12 thoughts on “Things To Count On…

  1. Amy, so very very true! I find myself wiggling and squirming to get away from the pressures of life sometimes only to discover part of the pressures are from my heavenly Father to make me into a diamond of sorts. That is why what you say about prayer is so vital. Without constant communication with our Lord, we cannot discern what we should say “no” to and what we should say “yes” to.

    Oh, I remember the times my little boy was playing ball and I was chasing him back and forth to practices for ball, practices for band and on and on. What treasure there is in those memories. Enjoy them. selahV

  2. Pingback: Global Warming » Things To Count On…

  3. Amy,
    Great post….Isn’t it amazing how God speaks to us through even the washing of dishes? 🙂
    You are so right, placing the pressures and cares of this world in His hands is really the only choice we can make. Knowing that He does take care of our needs, why wouldn’t we want to?

    Hope your finger is healing nicely!

  4. SelahV, I find myself wiggling also instead of being still and waiting to hear from Him. Maybe before to long we will both be shiny gems. 🙂 Thanks for your thoughts here. They are always welcome. Blessings.

    jel, Thanks. I appreciate your concern. 🙂

    Christy, That indeed is the question, “Why wouldn’t we want to?” Why do we struggle when He is there for us? Sometimes knowing the right thing to do and doing it is hard. I am so glad I have a father who is strong and will help me.

    My finger is much better. I am keeping “stuff” on it so it won’t get infected. It is nice to have such caring friends like you. Have a great day!

  5. Hi Amy,

    Sometimes in our life it takes many scoldings to ever learn the truth about ourselves ! Sometimes I think that the quote ” Hindsight is the best teacher ” ?
    Have a good weekend and hopefully see you and Bro. Gordon at the Sunday school cookout ! Since ya’ll are in your training exercises I guess I will have to eat ya’ll’s other burgers ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  6. Your posts are always so fresh and pertinent. I remember those busy days hurrying from here to there. I miss it sometimes, but not the stress that comes along with it.

    I think of your boys playing ball and remember David’s many activities in sports. Whenever I go to his high school to see a basketball game and notice the parents there, drinking in every moment, I sometimes say to them, “Enjoy every moment. They’re grown and gone too soon.”

    Have a good weekend.

  7. Hi Amy! Yes, its when the pressure is on and we are really squeezed that we find out just what really is inside. May it be Christ that oozes out.

  8. Thanks, Beverly for your kind words. I do enjoy watching my boys play baseball. They are my joy. I am planning to post some pictures of them soon. 🙂

    Jadasgigi, that is so true. May we all be more like Christ everyday. It has been nice having you around today. God bless.

  9. Wow, I needed to hear that today! We have the same situation with dance recitals and three girls this time of the year. I am just about to crack like your dish. Reading this today has really given me some peace. Thanks for stopping by today.

  10. Sarah, Welcome to Byway Blessings. I am so glad you were blessed. Thanks for your comments also. It has been a pleasure to meet you. Come back anytime.

Leave a Reply

