“Day By Day Grace”

“It does not matter where God places me or how.  That is rather for Him to consider than for me.  For the easiest positions He must give grace; and in the most difficult His grace is sufficient.  So, if God places me in great perplexity, must He not give me much guidance? in positions of great difficulty, much grace? in circumstances of great pressure and trial, much strength?  As to work, ministry was never so plentiful, so responsible, or so difficult; but the weight and strain are all gone.  His resources are mine, for He is mine.”

–J. Hudson Taylor, Missionary to China

“Grace.” It is a small word, but the depth of its meaning transcends time and place.  As a child, my teacher in Sunday School taught me that Grace meant “God Riches At Christ’s Expense”. This definition of grace helped my childish mind to wrap itself around this concept. God extended salvation to me because of his grace. Titus 2:11 reads, “For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men.”  In my sinful state, I needed what He showed to mankind through Christ’s death on the cross. I needed the salvation he offered.   Songs, poems, essays and sermons have been written expressing in words the amazing grace of God.  Perhaps the most well know is “Amazing grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me.” (John Newton)  Countless men and women throughout time have been awe struck by the “salvation grace” he poured out upon the human race and great debaters have gathered to discuss the importance and deeper meaning of the word, “Grace.”

However, As I grew and matured in my faith and walk with Christ, I experienced first hand the grace God gives to us on a daily basis. When the storms of life came upon me I discovered beautiful “day by day grace”.  In small trials and overwhelming storms of life, I found not only a friend I could count on but also a grace that was as big as I needed it to be. (Ephesians 2:7)  When I was in situations beyond my control and nothing I could do could have any bearing on the situation, I discovered the great grace of God was there for me.

In  2 Corinthians 12:9, Paul declares, “And he said unto me, My Grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”  Paul experienced trial upon trial to spread the word of God to the people of that time.  In the circumstances beyond his control Paul discovered the day by day grace of God an invaluable source of strength and encouragement. For in weakness we discover reliance upon God to be the only strength available.

J. Hudson Taylor had truly discovered grace when he penned the words above.  Perhaps you are struggling in the location God has placed you. I can honestly say I have been in that situation.  I was in a place where I wanted to get out. I wanted God to immediately fix the situation and make it better. (A lot of “I, I, I ‘s” don’t you think? 🙂 ) I wanted to be removed from that place, but God had something to teach me first. He wanted to show me that there was not only “salvation grace” but also “day by day grace”. No matter where God has placed you or what you are going through we have a God who loves and cares about you. Sometimes, He puts us in a place so we can see who we really are and who He really is. God might immediately remove you from the place of trial or He may wait, but no matter where we are God has our best interests on His mind and heart. We might want to give God the benefit of the doubt that He knows about our present circumstances and has a plan that is bigger than us. Our purpose is to please Him and glorify Him.  We can do that in everything.  Let us never forget that as Christians, we have at our disposal a magnificent amount of grace. We have help in our time of need. You may experience this day by day grace today.

“His resources are mine for He is mine.”

13 thoughts on ““Day By Day Grace”

  1. Hi Amy,

    Now you have gone and did it ! You have made me cry and ask God to forgive me when I thought He had forgot me ?

    Just kidding you , this is another good post that reminds us that God is in control and for us to be patient !

    Blessings and see you Sunday .
    Ron.

  2. So true!
    We have been and still are going through a hectic and trailing period, but God’s grace and blessings are all around us.:-)

    Many blessings to y’all.

    God’s Grace.

  3. Very nicely said, Amy. That daily grace is always there–I like what you said…”our purpose is to please Him and glorify Him”…with this as our focus, everything else falls into place!
    I hope all is well with you and your family-
    Christy 🙂

  4. Thanks, Ron, If I would have known it made you cry I would have brought you a tissue to church yesterday. lol. Just kidding! I appreciate your comments. They are always welcome as are you!!

    Corry, Gordon and I have been praying for your family during this time. I am so glad we have his daily grace to comfort us and strengthen us during times of need.

    Christy, Sometimes we are so busy we forget to focus on our purpose. I am glad for his patience toward me. We are all fine. Hope your family is doing great also.

  5. Amy,
    Those were very encouraging and strengthening words. The words of J. Hudson Taylor and your words both were what I needed to hear.
    I want to ask you and Gordon to pray for my wife, our kids, and myself, and also Madge’s [my wife] family. If you would be interested in knowing why you could go to our family blog and read what I posted there a short time ago. May God bless you. You and Gordon have been a blessing to my heart.
    T.A.

  6. Amy, living moment by moment in His grace has afforded me the luxury of understanding the “difficulties” as orchestrated for my good even when I think my good ain’t so good. “This thing is from Me,” the Lord said in 1 Kings 12:24. Oh, that we could embrace that truth. selahV

  7. Bro. Tim, I am glad you were touched. I will be praying for Mrs. Madge and all of you during this time. God bless you!

    SelahV, Thanks for the visit. God always knows what is best for us. If we could embrace that truth, we would find that “the truth would set us free.” 😉 You have been a special blessing to me this week. Thanks also for letting me “ramble on” over at your place. Blessings to you!

  8. Amy, Thanks for stopping by my blog! Your post is exactly where I am right now, God has a way of making everything fit and come together. We can never know in what way He will speak to us, even through those we have never met. I hope we can become friends! Be Blessed!

  9. Welcome, Cindy, to Byway Blessings. I have enjoyed your blog. It is great to make new friends. I hope you have a blessed day!

    SelahV, Somehow I knew we were “kindred spirits” 🙂

    **P.S. I checked out the devotions page. It is Excellent. I appreciate you sharing it with me. I didn’t realize it was there.

  10. Hello amy
    I haven’t been around much but wanted to say hi. You certainly hit the nail on the head with this post! I liked you rline abuot giving God the benefit of a doubt…he certainly does have a better vantage point than we do…His grace…so powerful day by day.

  11. Amy, for some reason, the majority of people who read IMPACT do not realize we have the subsite where I write a daily devotional. Daily? that is a miracle. I can’t believe God keeps on giving and giving and giving me something to say each day. Glad you discovered my ministry there. Hopefully, God can use it to comfort, console, and encourage you each day. (or whenever you get a chance to drop in.) selahV

  12. jadasgigi, Glad to have you around again. I always enjoy your posts and pics. The more I study on God’s Grace the more it overwhelms me. Blessings to you.

    SelahV, Thanks for the invite. I will drop in often. God bless you and your ministry.

Leave a Reply

