His Face…

A story was told about a man who lost his wife due to a car accident. The man had a small son whom he loved and was trying to help cope with this devastating loss. Daily the boy would ask his father, “When is mommy coming home?” The father would try to change the subject or do something to distract his boy from the awful truth. 

After several days at bedtime one evening after hugs and stories have been given and read, the father turned out the light. A small voice cried, “Daddy, when is mommy coming home?” In the darkness, the father with tears falling down his face replied, “Mommy is not coming home; she is in heaven with Jesus.”  Not a sound was in the room for the briefest of moments when the son said, “Daddy is your face toward me?” “Yes, son, my face is toward you,” he cried. “Then,” spoke his little son, “I know everything will be alright.”  

A short time later the father stands by the window with his face heavenward, “Father,” he cries, “is your face toward me?”  In his heart he knew the answer, and he also knew everything was going to be alright.

How often do we ask similar questions in our own life?  “Father, is your face toward me?” I know personally that I long to know that God’s face is toward me, yet in my weakness and pride how often is my face toward God?  Am I looking to Him for the guidance and direction I need? Am I in his will doing what he wants me to do?

As we begin the new year, I pray and ask God to bless me in the new year and to look toward me as I go on my way through the year. I make my list of the things I want to do this year. Perhaps, instead I need to ask myself is my face toward Him?  Am I only asking God to bless what I am doing or Am I striving to do what He is blessing? A new year brings with it many opportunities to serve the Lord. With these opportunities comes the challenge to go beyond what we know to do.  Have we sought the face of God in the new year and asked Him what He would have us to do with the year we have been given? 

Jesus in his earthly ministry spoke of “being about his Father’s business” on many occasions. This is a wonderful example for us to follow. If Jesus, himself, went about doing the work of the kingdom of God and following his Father’s will and not his own, how much more should we do the same. 

My January schedule seems to fill up faster than any other month, but I need to make sure God’s schedule for me is the first one I look to.  We must follow what He has for us to do.  This sometimes may mean that we have to say, “no”, to something that may be good to do, but if it is not on His schedule for us it is best for us to say, “no”, no matter how scary it may be for us.  Pray over your schedule.  In the busyness of the new year let us all follow the wisdom of Matthew 6:33.  “But seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you.”  With childlike faith trust God to know what is best for you to do with your days. 

Seek his kingdom first; Seek His face first and everything will be alright.

11 thoughts on “His Face…

  1. Very nicely said, Amy. I was particularly interested in the question, Is your face toward me? Another question I ask myself is, Am I living my life knowing that God is part of all that I do? In other words, Am I allowing the spirit of God to lead me in all things, where His will is evident in my life and is not some far away concept to be attained?
    Thanks for the story–it provides a nice picture of the sweet relationship that is produced when we are abiding in Him!
    Good to see you posting again–hope all is well with your family!
    Christy 🙂

  2. Great post. Our pastor spoke once from Psalm 32:8, where it says “I will guide thee with mine eye.” He then asked the question. What is the only way that can work? If we are looking to Him.

  3. Hi Amy,
    This is a good post as usual. I love the way you connect us with God but its us that don’t smile back at God ? Now this post is such well written that I might substitute it for my Sunday School lesson in the morning then I want have to go to Sunday School ? Beverly our Sunday School lesson for tomorrow is from Psalm 32 !

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  4. Thanks, Christy, for your comments. Things are well with the family. I understand things are happening in your family also. Gordon and I are praying for all of you.

    Great point, Beverly. We need to follow and look to Him. Good to “see” you. Hope all is well with your family.

    Ron, We had a great lesson on Psalm 32. Hope you did also. I am glad you stopped by.

  5. I love this post!
    Most of our days we plan, but God knows what is best. Our plans almost change constantly and it always turns out it was for the best. I have come to accept that and it gives me a lot of peace. We have to trust Him and be willing to walk the path He wants us to go.

    (((HUGS))) and love.

    God’s Grace.

  6. What a great prayer for the new year, to be about our Father’s business. And you are so correct, His face is toward us all the time. We are His children. The question is whether or not my face is toward Him. Love this post!!

  7. Amy, I haven’t been by for a while, and i find this article, and it is wonderfully inspiring.
    It is a wonderful thing to know that God’s face is toward us.
    Have a great year in the Lord.
    T.A.

Leave a Reply

