‘Tis the Season

The Christmas season is here. The time has begun to fight for parking in the Wal-Mart parking lot and the mall parking lot, and to wait in long check out lines behind 50 other people while the store insists on only having 3 lines open and 15 lines closed.  Nevertheless, I take great joy in the Christmas season. 

I love the lights and sounds of Christmas.  I decorated my office yesterday with all things “Christmasy”.  Colors, Red, Green, and Gold, abound everywhere.  “A Charlie Brown Christmas” CD  is playing in the background. (“dun, dun, dun,”  “dun, dun, dun,”  “dunnnnn, dun”)  I always look forward to decorating my home so tonight is the night.  It’s time to trim the tree.  We will have white chili bubbling on the stove, and the smell of Christmas cookies lingering in the air.  We always have such fun putting up the tree and even more so since last year we purchased one of those pre-lighted ones that come in three sections. My hubby, Gordon, is rather fond of the new tree. The manger scene and Christmas village are soon to follow.

Truly, the No. 1 reason I love Christmas is to celebrate the true meaning of Christmas, The birth of our Lord.  I am so glad He chose to come to dwell among men, and give us an opportunity to be clean before a Holy God.  Jesus came because He knew it was the only way to save mankind from the sinful state in which we were entangled. 

In Galatians 4:4-5, we read, “But when the fulness of time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law, to redeem them that were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons.”  Jesus is the only way to God. He made a way when there was no way. We were in bondage under the law, and the law demands justice for sins committed.  Christ came to redeem us so we could be extended grace and mercy.  We now have the opportunity to come to God.  “Thank you, Jesus, for coming as a baby, living a sinless life, and dying on the cross to bear my sin, punishment, and shame.” 

Tonight as I am trimming my tree and spending time with my dear ones, I will continue to thank him for coming to earth and being willing to give what only He could give to me…Life Eternal. 

‘Tis the Season…

9 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. Hi Amy,

    I love all the christmas songs and enjoy talking with the little ones and seeing all the excitement in their faces and the love they show in their hearts !

    I like most people don’t only give thanks at thanksgiving but at Christmas also . In fact I give thanks for every day for being Blessed !

    Blessings and see you Sat. night and if not then Sunday Morning !
    Ron.

  2. A lovely post. When I go to someone’s blog and they have music playing on it, I find it annoying, but when I hear the Christmas music, it’s a different story. Love it.

  3. Corry, thanks. I hope you have a blessed day.

    Jel, I will be glad to post the recipe later today for you. It is soooooo good. It has the chili spices in it and chicken etc.

    rrbj, Amen to your comment. Those are some of the best things about Christmas. Hey, what a great Christmas party we went to. The food and fellowship was outstanding as always. Sunday was great, also. We are so very blessed.

    Beverly, Me too. I can’t wait till the day after Thanksgiving. That’s when I pull out all my Christmas music and it often lasts all through January as well.

    Christy, Thanks. I hope everything is going well for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

