It’s a New Day!

Hello, Everyone. It has been a little while since I have posted. Since my last post, the family and I have been to South Carolina (to Randy and Sara White’s Home, Gordon’s Aunt and Uncle), Virginia (Cameron, Gordon’s brother, and Lynn Cloud’s Home), Washington, DC (just for fun), North Augusta (to Kelley Murphy’s Home, who is a dear friend of mine from grade school), and to the Georgia Baptist Convention held in Augusta, Georgia. (Are you tired yet? Me too.)  🙂   How we managed to cram so much into our vacation I will never know, but It was one amazing trip.  The fellowship we shared with family and friends was great, and seeing the fall colors of those areas for the first time was beyond belief. 

The Tuesday evening of our homecoming I felt myself a little under the weather.  This turned to a terrible cold which I have fought the last 8 days. I Guess I shook to many hands at the GBC and didn’t wash off the fellowship enough. lol!!!  However, I am beginning to feel a lot better which is wonderful because My dad and step-mom are coming to my house this afternoon for the holiday.

During my respite to the couch and bed this weekend, I had the opportunity to watch a movie I hadn’t seen in several years.  “Anne of Green Gables” has always been one of my favorite movies. It is a beautiful story of an orphan girl, the family she finds, and all the scrapes she endures. I have read all of the books in the Anne series, and own most of the others that Lucy Maud Montgomery has written.  She is by far my favorite writer also.  She is truly a “kindred spirit”.

In the movie, Anne is walking a path with her teacher discussing a situation. Anne declares, “Tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it.” To which Mrs. Stacy replies, “Well, there are no mistakes in it yet.” This line gives hope to each of us who have numerous day fraught with mistakes. We have been given a fresh new day today to do with it whatever we wish.  We have so many opportunities to love, share, and just be what God would have us to be. We may make mistakes, but God’s forgiveness is close at hand if we confess it to Him. 

What will you do with your day today. It may be busy getting ready for tomorrow or you are preparing to travel. In the midst of it all take time to thank the Lord for this new day. Take advantage of sweetness of His Word and talk to Him about this day.  Then, Let him shine through you and all you do.

I would like to wish each of you a Happy Thanksgiving and hope you all have a wonderful day today and tomorrow.

Have a “fresh” new day!!!

8 thoughts on “It’s a New Day!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you too. Anne of Green Gables is probably my daughter’s favorite. We watched it many times over the years.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  2. Hi Amy ,

    I appreciate this post! It is true Most of us have to drive up a stob and wait for the next day to come and do our best to make atonement for our yesterday wrong doings !

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  3. Sorry to hear you are sick. I pray you will be better soon.
    Glad y’all had such a wonderful time and I hope your Thanksgiving was filled with lots of joy and blessings!

    God’s Grace.

Leave a Reply

