Open your eyes, Cat!

As I have already mentioned in a previous post, My cat, Marshmallow, had 6 kittens. You can call her an overachiever if you wish. She has not had a litter under 5 kittens to date.  I usually go out and visit with them when I get home from work in the afternoons. A couple of days ago, I discovered every one of them had their eyes open. This was an exciting time. Now they can look at me when I look at them. 

I also get excited when God shows me something from His word that I had not seen before. A few years ago, I heard for the first time a song entitled, “Open My Eyes, Lord”.

“Open my eyes, Lord. I want to see Jesus to reach out and touch Him and say that I love him. Open our ears, Lord and help us to listen. Open our eyes, Lord. We want to see Jesus.”

Through my personal walk with the Lord, I want to see Him.  In  Ephesians 5:15-16 we read, “See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, Redeeming the time because the days are evil.”  “Circumspectly” is synonym for “carefully”.  We need to walk carefully with our eyes open to what the Lord has for us. In “Avoid ‘Cat’astrophe” I illustrated a cat walking on a board fence between two yards with dogs in each. The cat must walk “circumspectly” with her eyes open to the danger that surrounds her.  How often are our eyes open to the danger that surrounds us every day? The danger is real. We must carefully walk with wisdom and protect our families from the dangers of this world. We need to protect our testimonies as well. 

Those that oppose Christ would like nothing better than for the Christians to go from day to day with their eyes closed to what is going on in the world. We should not hunker down in our holy bunkers waiting for Christ to come back and take us away from it all.  The Bible tell us to “redeem the time.”  We must make full use of the time we have before the Lord  returns. Our calling as Christians is to win the world for Christ.  God has given us the opportunity to be a light shining in the darkness. It is time to take advantage of the moments of this life to reach out a helping hand to those who are hurting and in need, and man’s greatest need is the need of a Savior.  Are we spending our time wisely as the Scripture says to?

When we strive to go through this life with open eyes not only will we see Jesus, but also we will recognize more opportunities that He places in front of us.  Every day He brings people into our lives that need ministering to. You don’t have to be a pastor to minister. It is the responsibility of all Christians.  When we walk with open eyes and with wisdom, we can avoid the snares the enemy hopes to entangle us with. Jesus longs for us to follow Him closely. One of the first things my husband told me when we were walking in the woods was to step where he stepped. He told me this so I would be safe and out of harms way.  I imagine Jesus wants me to follow Him that way too.  By stepping where he steps my path ahead will  be cleared of danger and free from harm.

“Open our eyes, Lord we want to see Jesus”… and others too.

*I would like to highlight a devotion that follows Ephesians 5:8 which we discussed in my last post.  SelahV, at SBC Impact, has written an excellent post entitled “Ten Watts Short Of A Light Bulb”.

15 thoughts on “Open your eyes, Cat!

  1. Amy, thanks so much for the link. Your post is great. I especially like you stepping where your hubby walks to remain safe. If we’d all consider each step we take as following in the steps of Jesus we would avoid alot of heartache, to be sure. selahV

  2. Steve, Me too. You and Christy have been in my thoughts and prayers this week in regard to all that is going on with you. Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you and your family.

  3. Hi Amy ,

    This is another great post and I thank you for them . It kinda makes me think of what grandpa’s and grandma’s used to say about their children and grandchildren when they said in describing them ” He or She walks in the footsteps of his mama or daddy ” !

    That is reason enough to want to follow in Jesus footsteps so we can teach our little ones how they should grow up !

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  4. Amy,
    Wise words….there are many, many opportunities that we have in each moment of each day to show Christ to others around us. To some it may “make sense” to get involved only in safe situations. But the truth is, if we are following Christ through each situation, what have we to fear? I love what you wrote about following in His steps. How can we not trust Him, the one that loves us so completely?
    Again, great thoughts…keep ’em coming!!
    Christy 🙂

  5. Amy, you have a wonderful way of connecting every day life to God, His word and His way. I love your posts!
    I hope y’all are doing well and have a very blessed day, dear sister. 🙂

    God’s Grace.

  6. Thanks everyone for your encouragement. I’m sorry I haven’t responded sooner. I have not had access to the computer for over a week due to being out of town on vacation. God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

