Avoid “Cat”astrophe!

Imagine a tall board fence between two large fenced in yards  on the left side of the fence is a large disgruntled pit bull and on the right side of the fence is a big black rottweiler who has not yet had his lunch then walking along the top of the fence is a cat carefully balancing her way along step by step. She can’t step too far to the right or the left. She must keep going till she safely passes through the danger to the other side where safety awaits, so the balancing act continues.

I was reminded of this story as I viewed Corry’s blog yesterday. (It is a picture of a cat and several dogs.) This picture shows the balancing act we try to perform on a daily basis.  In searching for balance in the Christian life we have discussed  the guidelines of “Pleasing God” and “Loving Others.” The third guideline we need to adopt is that of “Our personal walk with the Lord.” This concept builds on the other guidelines. Can we please God if our walk is not right? Can we love others the way we should if our attitude is full of anger, bitterness, or pride?

The book of Ephesians has much to say regarding how we should walk as a Christian and how we should act toward each other.  Paul in the Scriptures gives the first challenge the Ephesians to “Walk Worthy In Unity”.

Ephesians 4:1-3 reads, “I, therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you that ye walk worthy of the vocation wherewith ye are called, with all lowliness and meekness, with long suffering forbearing one another in love; endeavouring to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.” 

First of all what does it mean to walk worthy. I looked up “worthy” in the dictionary and the definition is “having worth, value or merit; deserving”  I believe this has to do with knowing who you are in Christ.  When I repented of my sin and accepted the salvation  that was offered to me through Christ redemptive work on the cross, I became a child of God.  I became one of his own.  I was undeserving because of my sin nature, but through Christ I am accepted by God. When God looks at me, He sees not my righteousness, but the righteousness of Christ imputed or cast upon me by Christ himself.  It is not about me, but about who Christ is!  We have been made joint-heirs with Christ.  We are made right before God. We are made over in the righteousness in Christ.  Paul is telling us today to walk with merit and value in the place that God has called us to serve.  He has given us all something to do. 

We are unique individuals that is what makes us special in the body of Christ. We are uniquely equipped for a special purpose by God for the furthering of His kingdom. So we need to walk knowing our worth in Christ, but not letting it go to our head causing it to swell with pride. When we look back at verse 2, we see we are to walk with “lowliness, and meekness, with long suffering, forbearing one another in love.”  If we practice each one of these traits, we will be treating each other the way that Christ intended which is knowing our worth in Him and treating others with respect and love. 

Verse 3 wraps up the why of verse 1 &2.  We should practice these attitudes because we are working toward a common goal: Unity.  God wants his people to be unified in our goals, in our purpose, and in our dealing with each other. We should “endeavour” or work hard “to keep up the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.  God wants his children to get along with each other.  This is not something that comes to us naturally.  It comes by each of us letting the love of Christ radiate through us.  I can do nothing outside of His grace and mercy, yet through Him these things are possible.  We must pray for and strive for unity.  The Bible tells us to live peaceably with all men. It sounds unrealistic to be at peace and in unity with everyone. We quote, “with God all things are possible,” but do we with faith grab hold of this concept and believe. With God, I can love the person who is unlovely. With God, I can be unified with my brothers and sisters in Christ.  With God, I can be at peace with all men.  We must move from possible to probable. Through Christ, it can happen!!!

“Watch your walk because your walk talks louder than your talk talks.”

13 thoughts on “Avoid “Cat”astrophe!

  1. Amy, as you know, I work with the teen girls at Awana. I have this one young lady who got saved through Awana. She loves the Lord and has a burden for her lost family. On the last night of Awana, she gave me a piece of paper asking for help. She felt she is just to worldly and not “religious” enough (in her own words). Before coming across your post, I was replying to her letter by explaining to her that it’s a WALK WITH CHRIST.

    Thanks to your post, I have even more things I can write her. And more verses too. 🙂 Thank you!!!

  2. Jel, Thanks for the visit. It is raining outside my window today, but the “Son” is shining inside.
    God Bless.

    Sarah, I am so glad this helped. I am planning to do another post, maybe two continuing this same thought of the believer’s walk. The Lord has opened my eyes to some things this week and I am excited to share my journey in the faith. God bless you as you try to reach out to the ones in “your Jerusalem”.

    Dana, great quote. Thanks for sharing. God gives us what we need when we need it the most. May He give us all ears that are tuned to Him. It is good to “see” you. I hope things are going well with you. Blessings!

  3. So true, actions speak louder than words!
    I have been skimming my knees constantly by falling of the balance-beam. But… get up, back on it and try again. The 3 P’s as I call it: Patience, Persistance and Perseverence! And as you already mentioned, I can do anything through Christ who strengthens me! 🙂

    Thanks for refering to my post. 🙂

    Have a very blessed Sunday!

    God’s Grace.

  4. Hi Amy,

    I’m just getting around to my daily computer practice tonight , after that beautiful music by The young ladies from the Girls Lighthouse ? It was truly a blessing how those young ladies turn their lives around !

    It took me all afternoon to get over them bodacious groceries we had and all that good fellowship we had . BTW- IF you judge me by my walk I hope you don’t get dissapointed , you will get more out of my talk ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  5. Thanks, jel, I had a great weekend. Hope yours was great as well.

    Corry, The 3P’s are very appropriate, and it is all about Him. After seeing your post the things I had been pondering over the last few days fell into place. I am glad we can be there for each other. Iron sharping Iron. 🙂 I have enjoyed the journey with you. Have a great week, my friend.

    Ron, I just can’t describe what a blessing those girls were to me. My heart was so full and overflowing. God is so Good!!! You are a blessing to me and have become a good friend.
    By the way, I hope you didn’t eat to many sweets like I did! I wouldn’t want to tell on you accidently! lol!!! 🙂

  6. Hi Amy,

    Please don’t accidentally tell on me , cause I had to convince Jean to fix me a take out plate with sweets and she made me promise not to eat all of them at one time ? I almost listened to her but about 4:30 I wish I had ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  7. Pingback: Open your eyes, Cat! « Byway Blessings

Leave a Reply

