It’s not what you think…

In the last few weeks, the media has posted quite a few stories on the who’s who and what about the who’s who of Hollywood.  One incident in particular has graced the magazines, Internet and newsrooms.  About a month ago,  Owen Wilson, a comedian who has made his mark in the movies, tried to commit suicide.   It seems we have heard that several comedians of the last 20 years have tried successfully or unsuccessfully to end their life.  It gives us all cause for reflection. Was this a shock to his friends and family? or did they see something traumatic on the horizon?  I wonder how many people hide the hurt, depression, and darkness in their life behind laughter and smiles.  It is probably more than we realize.

The Bible tells us that “man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart.”  I am afraid that we take for granted that people will hide what is really going on inside. At what point to we start hiding the feelings of our heart from others.  As children our parents could tell if something was bothering us without us having to say a word. We can tell with small children especially a stuck out lip or tears.  Even in a church setting many people are not comfortable showing or relating to others when they are in sorrow over something or battling problems in their life.

I think it is time for those of us who name the name of Christ to look deeper.  Many times people will say, “I’m fine.” when their world is falling apart. We then may think how can we help them if they won’t share what is going on? 

One way is to be men and women of prayer. When we pray how often do we ask the Lord to make us sensitive to the needs of others.  Gordon, my husband, at Heavenly Heartburn has written a great article on being a sensitive leader like Jesus.  When I don’t know the answers to questions, I can pray.  When I see someone is hurting, I can pray.  When the Lord brings a person to my mind, I can’t help but think he has done this so I might lift them up in prayer.  God honors and blesses the prayers of his children. Prayer can open our eyes to other’s needs.

The second thing we can do is follow the leading of the Holy Spirit. The Bible says regarding the Holy Spirit that “he will guide us into all truth.”  How often does the Holy Spirit nudge us with the feeling we are not getting the  whole story when talking with someone.  Are we moving so quickly through life that we do not stop and listen to others and wait for the Holy Spirit’s leading?  When we meet people outside of the church setting, do we take time to stop what we are doing and just listen to what they are saying? To often, we wave across the store and move on without speaking.  It could be the Holy Spirit was waiting to lead us and we blew him off.

It could be when talking to others about their lives that it is exactly what you think…then again it may not be so.  We should all pray for the Lord to lead us to people who need to be encouraged. Then when we see them face to face, take the time to listen and be lead. 

15 thoughts on “It’s not what you think…

  1. good post! my husband is very sensitive and talented at getting to what’s underneath the surface..what really going on with people…when asked about it he always replies..”I simply listen”…we all could use more practice in the art of listening. Hope you’re doing well…been missin ya…:)

  2. There are not many people who trust others with their problems and/or feelings (raising hand, although I am learning! :-)), mostly out of fear of being hurt. Unfortunately there are still people who like to use what you give them, against you or for control. That makes it even harder for people to open up. But… hope, love and faith, huh?!!
    I do struggle with this though: where do you draw the line of being selfish, when you talk about your feelings and problems and don’t set them aside to help and see the need in others?

    Blessings to y’all.

    God’s Grace.

  3. Great thoughts, Amy. It’s so easy to breeze through our day attempting to complete the tasks that wehave planned …when God may want us to slow down and see what He has planned for us to experience in that day.

    May we be open to be lead by His spirit in each moment!

  4. Amy this is another good post and a lot of good words. I am a little slow about listening to others about their problems but I do let them know that they are safe with me. I am not one to share others private problems with others and if asked for my opinion will give them an answer after I pray about it ?

    Sometimes I just say ” Oh Lord its hard to be humble , but I still love ya ” ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  5. jadasgigi, We can all work at listening better. You husband has discovered the key. Thanks for stopping by.

    Corry, It is hard to open yourself up to others. I have been burned on a few occassions myself. As for your question, I have a few very dear friends with whom I can be completely transparent with knowing they will not judge me, but offer support and prayer. Because, Let’s face it sometimes you need to talk to someone to help sort out your feelings or fears, and you need someone to pray for you earnestly. When it comes to others I try to be friendly and always ready to minister. This is something with which I have struggled and do not claim to be an expert by any means. Yet, I have tried to follow the Holy Spirit’s leading and pray, pray, pray. The crowd often turned Jesus’ words against him, yet it didn’t stop him from fulfilling the Father’s will. I hope this helps. If you wish to talk further, e-mail me and I will do all I can to help. Blessings to you, my friend.

    Christy, the busyness of life is one thing I struggle with on a daily basis. God is helping me to be more sensitive to the needs of others. Good to “see” you.

    Ron, Being that safe place for someone is hard to find. I know all who talk to you are blessed. I know I am. P.S. Humility suits you!!!:)

  6. Thanks sis, that was very helpful. I thought to just apply the golden rule. I would like to know about their problems, so I could be of help or at least pray for them, so… visa versa! 🙂
    Blessings to y’all, dear sister.

    God’s Grace.

  7. Corry, you’re welcome. The golden rule in action is an excellent idea. God’s grace to you too.

    Dana, I am so glad you stopped by. Thank you for your encouragement. This subject has been on my heart alot lately. Blessings to you.

  8. With no inquiring consumers in order to erase things, is around the best form
    i can erase my own Dubai video clip remarks regarding somebody else’s Dubai videos? Just let(:.

Leave a Reply

