Let’s Conform!

We will conform to the things we wrap ourselves around.

I have found lately in the busyness of life that there is a tremendous pull on the Christian today. I find myself in a constant struggle to find time to be alone with the Lord. I want to spend more and more time with Him, yet it is a battle I fight every day.  I need a daily renewal with God and that sweet fellowship that only comes by leaning on His strength, wisdom and understanding.

Romans 12:2 reads, “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect will of God.” It is so easy to conform to this world. How often do we take the easy way out of a situation rather than do the thing that is right and sometimes hard?   We do it because it is so easy to conform to the world’s standards and ideas of the right way. Paul tells us in this verse to transform  our mind set, or our way of thinking to find God’s will and way.

God wants us to reflect Christ. We were made in his image and his likeness, therefore we, as Christians, must strive to be like Christ in our walk with Him and our way of thinking.

Imagine if you will a large piece of aluminum foil, a small globe, and a beautiful, ornate candlestick. We represent the foil. We are soft and pliable. If you were to put us straight up in front of the globe or the candlestick, someone walking by could not tell what was behind the foil. If you were to begin wrapping it around the globe(representing the world), someone could tell right away or make a good guess anyway what was underneath the foil. It is not to hard to wrap around a spherical object. It is not hard either to act and adapt our thinking to the world’s thinking. When this happens, it won’t be to long before others see what we have been wrapping ourselves around.

It is not hard to imagine Jesus as the candlestick, after all He is the light of the world.  As I begin to wrap myself in Him, it is a process that will take a lifetime.  The more I read my Bible and pray; the more you will see Jesus. You will see it in my actions and in my speech.  The more immerse myself in Him; the more I am molded and shaped into his likeness. Each little nook and crevice will be seen.  Each ornament will  come into view. 

You may not see the colors of the candlestick now only glimpses of glory. It is only when I drop this robe of flesh for Heaven will the great glory of Christ be seen.

Does this stop me from doing and being all he wants me to be now? No.  The more I resemble my Savior the more the world around will see Him and be drawn to his light. It is not about me. It is all about Him.  How I long to be conformed to the image of Christ. Is it a daily fight and battle? Yes. Is It worth it? Oh, yes.  As the old hymn proclaims, “It will be worth it all when we see Jesus. It will be worth it all when we see Christ.”

23 thoughts on “Let’s Conform!

  1. Amen! That I might show forth His glory!
    Congratulations on your anniversary. you are blessed indeed…but I do believe I have the best hubby in the world…:)

  2. jadasgigi, I said in my post there might be those that diagree with me. I am glad you feel about your hubby the same way I feel about mine. 🙂 Have a great day.

  3. Good post, Amy. The more we show others the love of Jesus in our daily lives, the more we are communing with Him as well. The two can’t be separated. If we are in Him, He is with us at all times. Walking in that reality is where I want to be.

  4. This post was incredible, and yes I too desire to spend more time with Him but it never seems to be enough. I am thirsty for more and my thirst is unquenchable. Thank you also for your prayers for Chuck, God is going to carry us thru this, He knows best and He will take care of it!!

  5. Hi AMY.
    Another good post ! Yes we have to spend our life trying to conform to what Jesus would have us to be ? At this point in my life I do what I can!

    Though my steps are oh, so slow,
    With my hand in His I’ll go,
    On through life, let come what may,
    HE’LL be there to lead the way.

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  6. Christy, That is where I want to be too. Thanks for coming by your thoughts are always welcome.

    Corry, Seeing Jesus is what it is all about. Good to see you. Blessings to you too.

    Dana, It is great to have you around. We will continue to pray for your family. When we come thristy to God, He always satisfies.

    Ron, If everyone would do their best for God, the world will be reached for Christ. You keep on keeping on. 🙂

  7. selahV, Thank you so much for stopping by. When we think about Christ, it puts everything in perspective.

    Sarah, God bless you, and thank you for your kind words. 🙂

  8. sorry!
    but the weekend is here, ya get to send it with your 2 way cool sons and that very nice husband of your’s now don’t that make ya feel better 😉

    have a good one !

  9. Amy,
    I’ve given you a Blogger Reflection Award. Go to my homeschool blog and get all the details. Just wanted you to know that you bless me 🙂

  10. jadasgigi, Sorry about the absence. I have been overwhelming busy with this summer. I hope to post tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

