Little by Little

Little by little, inch by inch, by the yard it’s hard… by the inch it’s a cinch.   Never stare at the stair;  just step up the steps little by little, inch by inch.

This little song has been echoing in my brain all morning. (It is indeed amazing the things you retain from childhood.) Yet  I am having one of those days where I am feeling overwhelmed with life in general.  I have found myself on several occasions over the last few days “staring” at the computer unable to put a coherent thought together.  Maybe we could blame it on “spring fever”, or maybe I’m just tired.  Our family has been very busy this last month with school ending, church activities (Vacation Bible School is next week.), and a short vacation to Atlanta/Warm Springs over Memorial Day Weekend. My husband, Gordon, at “Heavenly Heartburn” has shared in a  little more detail our running around. 

Little by little, like the inchworm, I have stretched as far as I can go. I need to be replenished and put back together by the one who knows me completely. Psalm 61:2 has been on my heart all day. It reads, ” From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”  That is what I need in this moment. I need to lean upon the one who has the strength, stability, fortitude, shelter and comfort to lift me. I must run to His Word and rest in it. So many times I want add to the amount of things I am doing when I really need to just rest and wait for the right timing.  So in my own Christian life I am still learning to take it little by little.  Little work, little rest, little love, little caring can go a long way. I should not let discouragment over not being able to do everything cloud my focus to what I can do. Little by little I will accomplish what God has for me to do.

Little by little…Great words for the day, and now I hear the Good Book and a nap calling my name.  🙂

10 thoughts on “Little by Little

  1. Oh, Amy, a nap is a wonderful thing. Since I’ve retired, I’ve looked back at those years when I was working, taking care of my husband’s needs, raising my children, and being pulled in so many directions. It is hard. That’s all there is to it, but somehow you make it. I’m praying for you for His strength for each task.

  2. Those are some wise words of wisdom, Amy, for us all. There’s a time for everything with the Lord; even a time to rest! May the Lord grant you the serene rest you need, and may He reward you and your husband for all your hard work.

    Little by little…how sweet! I really like that thought. 🙂

  3. I like it to!

    sounds like ya need a break, a reading break!
    and I got a book for ya, and that husband of yours!

    Breathing Grace by Harry Kraus, M.D.
    a shameless plug I know , but it is really good! 😉

    huggs

  4. yep…the little engine that could is what I’m thinking these days..Lol..
    praying you’ll be refreshed and ready to face the world again soon…
    too bad we couldn’t connect over Memorial weekend..it would be fun to get together for coffee (iced of course) and visit so let me know next time yo uget up ATL way…

  5. Beverly, Thank you for the prayers. I was able to take a nap yesterday and it helped a lot. I didn’t realize how tired I was.

    Sarah, Thanks for the reminder that there is a time of rest. I have felt so much better today. I hope you are having a blest day also.

    jel, thanks for the plug. I am always looking for good books to read. huggs to you too. 🙂

  6. jadasgigi, I think I can… I think I can. Hey, it’s working. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement.
    I would love to get together with you sometime. We will let you know when we are ATL bound again.

  7. Amy I used to up to 5yrs ago in my mind I thought I had to finish or get everything done before dark . As you said I try to let God direct me and I found out that works out better ? Now I just drive up a stob when it comes knocking off time and worry about it tommorrow ! Blessings. Ron.

  8. I emphasize! 🙂
    I learned and still am learning, to take it one step at the time, no matter how small. God has a time for everything and from experience it turns out to be the best time! So, take a nap and rest while He allows it. The other things will be done when it’s time and you have what you need to do it. God will guide and lead you to do a much better job at them as well, then when you force yourself. 🙂

    (((HUGS))) dear sister.

    God’s Grace.

  9. Amy,
    I understand your desire to be refreshed…I really do! We just returned from a trip to the beach and it just what I needed.

    Just remember that… she who refreshes will be refreshed as well. I’m sure you will receive what you need very soon 🙂

  10. rrbj, I think my little engine is tuckered out. lol. Maybe some rest is forthcoming. Maybe after VBS. sigh. lol.

    Corry, this is sound advice and I will definitely try to follow it. you are a good friend. Hugs to you too.

    Christy, I am so glad for your time of rest. I am ready for some more. Thanks for your encouragement. I appreciate you, my buddy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

