Ultimate Survivor

One of my favorite things to do at the mall is to find a place to sit and watch people.  This, of course, is done after I have exhausted myself shopping and I find one of those big, black chairs you put change into. The more I watch people the more I realize times may change, styles may change, but people are basically the same.

The basic drives of humanity were played out again in the 14th season of CBS television series Survivor: Fiji. I have only watched only the last two seasons, but it has been an eye opener in the people department. If you want a way to show your kids the craziness people will go to to win $1,000,000 dollars, Check out this show. 

I had been cheering all along for a 54 year old man named Yau-man.  Of all the ones who played the game this season. He kept his integrity through the entire 39 days.  He didn’t win the million dollars, but through every round he managed to stay afloat so to speak when you thought he would be sure to go.  He made it all the way to the final four.

As a watched, My favorite player was deceived, lied to etc.. The resounding answer when they were asked, “why did you lie, cheat, etc.? They would reply, “It’s just  a game.”  Unfortunately, with the same attitude, most people approach life the same way.  It is in human nature to be selfish, and any excuse can be thought of to justify wrong doing. The fact of the matter is it is so easy to offer excuses and/or blame others for our actions.  We live in a world that does not take personal responsibility for what they do and say.  All of us are capable of acting in the same way. When we fail to let the grace of God daily renew our mind, we can and will be caught in the trap of selfishness. 

Our guard must be in place against temptation.  David in the psalms was constantly praying  “guard my heart”, “keep a watch over my lips”, “keep me from the snare of the fowler…” etc.  We must also pray daily for help against temptation.  People have warred against it since the creation, and today we must fight against it as well. One of the amazing things about God is, He is there to help us in time of need. In 1 Corinthians 10:13, we read, “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”  A promise from God is given to us. We can rely on it and rest upon it. God will help.  We can survive temptation. He will provide a way of escape if we will take it.

We don’t have to go to the other side of the world to be the ultimate Survivor. We can do the right thing at the right time because we have the right help available.

14 thoughts on “Ultimate Survivor

  1. Amy I liked this post because it brought back memories when I was growing up . All my cousins was sitting in Sunday School assembly with me and my Aunt Elua lined us up on the first 2 rows and back then we didn’t have air condition and the windows were open and one of my cousins threw my Bible out the window and she asked me why was I fighting in church and I told her that seemed the right thing to do at the time ? It never crossed my mind that we were in church and I proceeded to get even and my Aunt pop me with that peachtree switch and I asked her why did she do that and she told me right quick that it was the right thing to do at the time . Then My gracious Aunt grabbed my cousin and me up and made us apologize to every body in the congregation and carried us out back ? You are right about our selfishness and the temptations are great , and we need to stop and think and depend on Gods Grace more often ! I didn’t have to go 1/2 way around the world to survive ? Blessings. Ron.

  2. Guess what? We are survivor-fans and watched all season long and…totally forgot that last sunday was the finale and missed it!!! ARRRGGHHH!
    Fortunately CBS had an update online and we caught up reading what happened and who won.
    I cheered for Yau-man as well and I am sorry he got treated the way he was, but God will set everything right one day. I suspect that Dreamz-guy will never be trusted by anyone ever again.

    I hope you have a very blessed day! 😀

    God’s Grace.

  3. Ron, Thanks for stopping by. Maybe next time it will bring memories that are not so painful. 🙂
    Seriously, I appreciate your thoughts.

    Corry, It was a wild season finale to be sure. We have been sharing with the boys how important it is to keep your word and do the right thing. They were able to see the how that happened between a group of people. It all comes down to a person’s integrity and character.
    At the end of the show they gave a preveiw to the next destination. It is going to be in China.
    I hope you have a blessed day also. 🙂

  4. Amy,
    We don’t have cable, so I can’t relate to the Survivor episode, but I can definitely relate to the survivor mentality that you have written about.
    This is such a wonderful post…you have quite a way of speaking succinctly the point you are trying to convey. Seems that is what Jesus did as well. Thank you for your honest look at His teachings. It is very refreshing to my eyes and heart:)

  5. Christy, Thank you for your kind words. You have been an encouragement to me also. I appreciate the push…gentle shove 🙂 you gave to me to get me started in the blogosphere. I have enjoyed getting to know you and I have found a “kindred” spirit in you. Blessings to you.

  6. Amy, I’ve never watched Survivor, but do feel like one at times 😉 Thanks for the reminders through David’s prayer in the Psalms regarding guarding our hearts etc as well as God’s promise of helping us in temptation.

  7. Hi Amy,
    I think women especially ought to ask the Lord to guard their heart. A verse that has been an eye opener to me is the following:

    Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life. Pro 4:23

    Wow…how true!

    Thank you for this great reminder. I will use that in my prayer tonight. I want to ask the Lord to guard my heart.

    Sarah 🙂

  8. Kitty,Thanks for stopping by. I think it is important to guard ourselves against temptation. Jesus used Scripture when he was tempted and we should do the same.

    Sarah, I think it should be our prayer that the Lord guard us. There is so much out in the world to distract us from following God. It should be a prayer for us all. Thank you so much for sharing. Your comments are always a blessing to me.

  9. Amy,
    The Survivor series is a good show to watch if you want to see how people act concerning things. There is much dishonesty and it was refreshing to to see Yau-man stand and be true to the end. He still even treated Dreamz as if he were a good friend.
    I do not think I could ever trust that Dreamz after seeing him treat Yau-man the way he did.
    It is a good study in human nature.

  10. Bro. Tim, I was glad also to see someone stand up and be true to the end. I wouldn’t trust dreamz either. I wonder if any who watched the show would hire him for a job. I know I wouldn’t.

    Audrey, Thank you for stopping by. We need to support one another in time of need. We will continue to pray for your family.

  11. Excellent post. I love Survivor but missed so much of this season. I love your perspective and thoughts on how so many people view so much of life as “it’s just a game.” We all need to live every day, every situation, with integrity.
    Good post.

  12. Jadagigi, Help is on the way many times before we ask. It is readily available and something we can count on. Thanks for sharing.

    Dionna, I can’t wait for next season. I love to watch it too. We do need to live with integrity. Thanks so much for your thoughts. They are welcome anytime.

Leave a Reply

