Yard Sale Mania

I have come to that wonderful time a year when I get bit by the “clutter bug”.  It begins to itch, so I scratch by throwing things in boxes to have a yard sale. I don’t know about you, but I love a good yard sale. I always feel so much better after a good “spring cleaning” also. These two things go hand in hand for me. 

I am what my husband considers a yard sale enthusiast. I love them. If he sees a sign up somewhere before I do, He drives faster thinking maybe I will miss it. It doesn’t work! (to my knowledge anyway.  lol.) His favorite joke is “my idea of heaven on earth is a yard sale in the dairy queen parking lot.”  He knows me all too well.  I love to have them. The reason is to clear up some space, and add a little “jingle” in my pocket. The word “cha-ching” comes to mind, so I have it set for next Saturday. I am so excited.

At this time of the year in many of our churches, we have our spring revivals. It is a time to do a little “spring cleaning” of the heart. It is so easy for us to get on the fast track and we start cramming more and more into our already crowded lives.  It’s time to “declutter”.  It’s time to take stock of why we do what we do.  The “it” of what we do is something each of us must ask ourselves. “It” may be something different for you than “it” is for me. 

  • Do we do it because if we didn’t do it, it wouldn’t get done?
  • Do we do it because  no one else can do it as well as we can do it?
  • Do we do it because we were pressured into doing it by someone else we couldn’t say “No” to? 
  • Do we do it because we truly feel it is something God wants us to do?

In my own life I need to constantly be on guard against clutter.  The more clutter there is the more I tend to get bogged down in it. When I become bogged down, I lose my effectiveness in God’s kingdom. Because more often than not my focus will be shifted to the clutter rather than where it should be which is on Christ and his purpose for me.

In Psalm 123:1-2 read, “Unto thee lift I up mine eyes, O thou that dwelleth in the heavens.  Behold, as the eyes of servants look unto the hand of their masters, and as the eyes of a maiden unto the hand of her mistress; so our eyes wait  upon the Lord our God, until that he have mercy upon us.”  Look to Christ and ask Him to show you what needs to go in your life. The things that you are doing right now may not be bad things. They may even be considered noble, but are the things that God wants you to be doing. Pray and ask Him to help you declutter your life.  Now is the time to throw some things in a box and tote them outside so someone else may get a blessing and use out of them. Pass up what is not in God’s will for you to do.

Yard Sale anyone? I’m excited already! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Yard Sale Mania

  1. It’s funny that you posted about yard sales…we are having one this weekend. Yet, another thing we have in common 🙂 I love this post. It is just what I needed to hear today! Thanks for always being a source of encouragement to me.

  2. Amy yard sales are great for people in todays age because it helps the young mothers to find nice things for their children ! But in my age we didn’t know what a yard sale was and when we got older and started seeing the signs advertising yard sales we wondered if people were really selling their yard ? We were blessed back in our day because we always just about knew the new clothes we got and which cousin they were coming from ? Them hand-me-downs were great back then ? Only the girls got new dresses when the flour sacks changed design every month ? Blessings . Ron.

  3. Christy, Great minds think alike! Let the “cha-ching” begin. lol. I hope you have a great one. Blessings to you, my friend.

    Corry, Hey! You comin’? just kidding. I wish you could. God’s grace to you too.

    Ron, I find a good portion of the boys clothes at yard sales and thrift stores. It really helps the budget, and we get nice things too. When we lived in FL. my two best friends and I had a clothes swap going constantly. They both had 5 children so we always had something the boys could wear. It was a great blessing to me at that time. Pretty neat about the flour sacks new fashions coming out and the girls shopped for new ones. I guess things haven’t changed that much since then. The new fashions are always a rave.

Leave a Reply

