Building Upkeep

As a follow up to my “Construction Zone” Posts. I found a poem that beautifully illustrates a way to reexamine the focus that we put upon the building process.

 Tearing down or Building up?

I watched them tearing a building down, A gang of men in a busy town;  With a heave-ho and a lusty yell they swung a beam, and the building fell.

I asked the foreman, “Are these men skilled, and the men you’d hire if you had to build?”  He gave a laugh and said, “No, indeed,  Just common labor is all I need;  I can easily wreck in a day or two what builders have taken a year to do.”

And I thought to myself as I went my way, which of these roles have I tried to play?  Am I a builder who works with care, measuring life by the rule and square?

Am I shaping my deeds to a well-made plan, patiently doing the best I can?  Or am I a wrecker who walks the town, content with the labor of tearing down?

–Roe Fulkerson

In our efforts to make our own building what God wants it to be, we need to be careful to keep our attitude toward others in perspective.  When God is working in my life that is something  I am excited about. To know I am being changed by the very hand of God on a daily basis is so encouraging to me.  I want him to work on “this building”, yet I need to remember that God has not given me a personal calling to work on your building that is something between you and him. I do not need to go about tearing down what God is working on in you.  

If you ask for my opinion, I will try to pray and give you an answer I feel God wants me too.  I have enjoyed the interaction here and on other blogs as well. It has given us a great forum to share, and discuss ideas and questions that will help us to work toward the goal of building a beautiful place for God to dwell in. 

In 1 Corinthians 15:58, we read “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.”

Let’s make it a practice to build up and not tear down the building God has given us to work on for Him. Remember it takes a long time to build something up and only a few moments to tear it down!

14 thoughts on “Building Upkeep

  1. Amy I liked that poem ? Every one needs to remember though that you need to keep the maintenace up on that building all week and not just on Sunday ! Blessings. Ron.

  2. jadagigi, when we are laboring with Him, how can we go wrong? Thanks for stopping by.

    Janice, I have enjoyed your friendship as well.

    Corry, me too. I appreciate your thoughts. Blessings to you.

    Sarah, You are welcome, I think it is so important to build up each other in the Lord.

  3. Ron, You are right. If we only worked on it one day a week, we wouldn’t get very far. I hope you are having a good week. Blessings to you.

  4. Amen, sis! You are so right…our (my) focus should be on loving Christ and allowing that love to spill over into the lives of others. (without judgment and condemnation). That is what I seek daily.
    Thanks for the reminder, Amy 🙂

  5. Beverly, Thanks so much for coming by. It’s great to “see” you.

    Christy, I think it is a struggle that many are facing today. The Lord is teaching me not to “react” when someone says something personal and critical, but to step back and pray then respond or act in love. It is not always easy, but it has saved me from saying things that are hurtful. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. They are a blessing to me.

Leave a Reply

