If you please…

The buzz surrounding ministry has been spreading around the blogosphere over the last week or two due to items in the news and the full lives of the people involved in ministering to others. Several of the articles I have read have been an encouragement to me.  This has caused me to reflect on my own journey in the ministry where God has called me to serve. 

When my husband and I began our ministry, I was what you could consider a “newbie”. I didn’t know anything about what it meant to be the wife of a minister let alone carry out what I thought would be expected of me. I wanted to please everyone all the time, yet I didn’t realize at the time how unrealistic that really is. Did I tell you I didn’t know anything? I really didn’t.  Because of my drive to please others, I found that the more I tried to please others the more people became critical and “not pleased” with my actions. I found myself in a very frustrating place. 

I was a stressed out woman with perfectionist tendencies that was wondering what to do next. I was trying to be the “perfect” minister’s wife and I was failing miserably. Didn’t God call us to be perfect? I didn’t realize at the time that we can only be made perfect in Christ. It is only in and through his righteousness.  My husband shared a quote in one of our church services that I needed.  “If you please God it doesn’t matter who you displease, but if you displease God it doesn’t matter who you please.” My focus was misguided and I needed to get it back on track.  First and foremost, I needed to please God not only with my actions, but also with my heart.

This does not mean that we are to respond negatively to those who have done the same to us, nor walk in such a way that we are a hindrance to their drawing close to God themselves. In ministry we must reach out to those that God has placed before us, but remember that pleasing God comes before pleasing man.

Before I am wife, mother, minister’s wife, friend, or any other title, I am a Christian.  My focus must be on pleasing the one who did so much for me. In Exodus 33:13, Moses cry to our Lord reads, “Now therefore, I pray thee, if I have found grace in they sight, shew me now thy way, that I may know thee, that I may find grace in thy sight…”  Moses wanted to know that God was pleased with him. I think this is the cry of every christian’s heart. We all want to hear, “Well done thy good and faithful servant”. This comes by walking in the way of the Lord. The Bible also says that the steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord and he delights in the way.  We please God by walking in obedience to him.

I wish I could say I have it all figured out, but I don’t.  The journey toward my ultimate goal, heaven, will sometimes be hard and I may grow weary. I will press on. I know there will be trials to endure and joys to celebrate. I will keep on searching for truth and do all I can to live a life that counts for Christ.

I will live to please my God!

14 thoughts on “If you please…

  1. I smiled when I read this post. 🙂
    I figured out the same not so long ago and now, each day, the first thing I do when I get up, is to ask God for strength and guidance to do His will and live according to His word. I know it may hurt others and I am sorry for that, but I am and have been overcoming my fear of what they think, expect or even believe to be my obligation. My hope is that God will even use me to be a testimony to them. 🙂
    My value is on what God thinks of me and expects me to do. It sure made my life a whole lot easier. I will slip, I am by no means perfect, but I strive to be as perfect as I can be.
    It’s not easy to do, I know that from experience, and I admire your attitude and commitment! You go, girl.
    Romans 8:31
    What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

    Sorry for all this rambling, I got carried away by my excitement. 🙂

    Have a very blessed day, dear sis.

    God’s Grace.

  2. Good morning Amy, Corry, Janice I wanted to comment and say another good post and Blessings to you , but Corry’s comment said it for me! I know where Bro. Gordon gets his good sermons from now ? LOL ! Ron.

  3. Amy,
    What a fantastic post! You really put your thoughts together very well. I can resonate with what you are saying here. I like the quote from Gordon, “If you please God it doesn’t matter who you displease, but if you displease God it doesn’t matter who you please.” This is something that I need to remember daily as I also tend to want to please everyone around me.
    Thanks for sharing your heart…It is a blessing to me.

  4. Corry, You come on over and ramble all you please. 🙂 I appreciate you excitement. It is great when God shows us something that transforms our life. Blessing to you, my friend.

    Janice, morning to you too. Thanks for dropping in.

    Thanks, Ron, we wives do what we can to help. LOL. Just kidding. I hope you have a blessed day.

    Christy, thanks for all your encouragement. This learning experience tranformed my thinking on this subject. When the desire to please others before God comes up, I know now how to deal with these feelings. I must take them to my heavenly father. He is strong when I am weak. You have been a blessing to me. I appreciate your heart, too. God bless.

  5. Thanks, Steve. I think we were posting comments at the same time. I appreciate your stopping by. You and Christy, especially, 🙂 are good friends. Thanks for the ditto.

  6. Being a ministers wife is a very difficult place to live…I’ve never been the people pleasing type and still it was hard for me at times.:)(if you knew me you would smile..) Following the Lord first and His bidding is always our first priority..in so doing, He will take care of where the chips may fall…keep after Him!

  7. jadasgigi, I think the Lord takes each one of us where we are and teaches us what we need to know no matter what our strengths or weaknesses are. I know he will take care of me if I follow him first. Thanks for your encouraging input on this topic. Blessings to you.

  8. I am weary right now in ministry. Right now we are on a much needed sabbatical and I am resting in Him. I do know and understand what you are talking about in this post, thanks for sharing!

  9. Your words are so wise. I know that being a pastor’s wife cannot be easy. I was the best friend and sounding board to my pastor’s wife for many years.

  10. Dana, I have been where you are. I am so glad you are able to take the time and rest yourself physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. We all need that from time to time. I will pray for you during this time. I know God will give you all you need to be rejuvinated. God bless you. 🙂

    Beverly, It is not always easy, but God gives us the joy and the strength to keep on keeping on. It is nice that you were a good friend to your pastor’s wife. We all need good friends.

  11. Thank you for such an encouraging post, Amy.
    Somebody once told me that with our journey with the Lord we have to let Him be the pilot, and we be the passengers. I have to say, your post reminded how important it is to pray for all my church workers, especially my Pastor’s wife. I will also pray for you! It’s the least I could, because your blog has ministered to me a whole lot.
    Sarah 🙂

  12. Thanks, Sarah, I like that illustration. I have often seen, “Jesus is my Co-Pilot.” This didn’t sit just right with me. To often I would try to jerk on the wheel of the plane and run into a mountain. 🙂 Yikes! I like your quote alot better. If we would all pray for each other, I think our churches would be stronger than ever. It has been great getting to know you. You have blessed me as well.

Leave a Reply

