Just Give It Away…

This morning, as I was flipping through the radio channels, I came across  the phrase of a song so I stopped and listened for a moment as the crooner lamented his lost love and how said love told him since things didn’t work out between them to give all the things they shared away ’cause she didn’t want them any more. “Just give it away” was her refrain. The motivation behind her giving was a tad different response than the dear lady I told you about in my last post.

Does our motivation behind what we do really matter in the grand scheme of things? I would give you a resounding, “YES”.  Why we do what we do does matter.

It matters to our Savior! He commanded the Children of Israel to offer their gifts willingly to him. (Exodus 25:2) We need to look on our giving to Lord and to others not as a duty or an obligation, but as act of compassion and love sharing what God has so graciously shared with us. In 1 Chronicles 29:9 reads, “Then the people rejoiced, for that they offered willingly, because with a perfect heart they offered willingly…” Wow.  People rejoicing in their giving would probably stir the heart of God again just as it was stirred in the Bible times. For it says in 2 Corinthians 9:7, “Every man according as he has purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.”  If you want to make the heart of God glad, give something away cheerfully.

It should also matter to us! Deuteronomy 16:17 reads, “Every man shall give as he is able, according to the blessing of the Lord thy God which he hath given thee.”  Do we need to give everything we own away?  No, I think the scripture is saying that we need to give something away when the Lord prompts us to do so.  Some have such a tight hold on their possessions that God would have to use a crowbar to open their fist. I don’t think he wants us to live holding on so tight that we are hesitant when he speaks to us to give. He wants us to live with a loose hold on our possessions.

I don’t want to be the one who only gives away what I can’t possibly use anymore,  or what I don’t like anymore. It never ceases to amaze me what some people give in the name of Jesus.   For example, I heard a preacher say one time a lady called him and said, “Preacher, I know you need some new furniture for the church office and I just bought a brand new couch because mine was falling apart. I thought I would take it to the dump, but if the church could use it I would be glad to donate it.”  Yikes!!!

God has blessed me and you with so much, and not with just material possessions.  I want the motivation behind what I give to be one of love for my Lord. I want to give my best to him. I want to give my spiritual best, my emotional best,  and especially my physical best.

Let’s all hold our possession loosely, so when he calls upon us to give the best…

Just Give It Away!

7 thoughts on “Just Give It Away…

  1. I like that song, and I think this is your best post so far Amy, 😉

    I hope y’all had a great Easter!

    and thank U for the visit! and the comment!

  2. I agree with you Amy, that we should be available at all times to give whatever resources God has freely given us. Sometimes we want to hang on to “things” that we really don’t need. Living simply and using those resources to bless others is so much more rewarding.

  3. Hi Amy, happy (belated) Easter. I agree that our motivation behind what we do really matters.
    Giving my best to the Lord is also my motivation in all I do, and I am willing to give it away!

  4. Janice, Thanks. We had a great Easter Service, and a relaxing afternoon as well.

    Christy, I like the words you used “living simply”. We tend to make our lives complicated and overrun with things that we really don’t need. I appreciate your thoughts as always. 🙂

    Kitty, Happy Easter to you also. I hope yours was as blessed as mine.

    Corry, I am so glad you were blessed by this article. God has overwhelmed me with his goodness and grace, and wonderful new friends to share with. You have been an encouragement to me. The journey has definitely been sweeter by getting to know you. 🙂

  5. Thanks Amy for another good post!These little reminders keep me on my toes! I believe that it pleases God no matter what it is that we give big or small because HE knows us better than we do ! Blessings. Ron.

  6. Ron, Thanks for stopping by. He does know us and our abilities. We do need to share what he has blessed us with be it big or small. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

