Overload

This time of year I find myself focusing on the resurrection of our Lord as we all do during the Easter Season. The churches in our community have been celebrating Holy Week this week. It is the time where different churches have at short service focusing on the Resurrection then serve lunch. Today, it was at the church where I work as church secretary. I was able to help the pastor’s wife set out the meal and fellowship with the many friends that were there. 

There has to be something in setting out food for a hungry crowd that puts me in the giving mood. I love to watch their faces as they pass by the table and all the smiles are a nice treat. I have been thinking about the great lengths at which Christ chose to give of himself.  It overwhelms me with gratitude and thanksgiving. He gives so much to us daily. The Bible says in Psalms that “he daily loadeth us with benefits.” He doesn’t just give till I have some benefit, but overloads me till I can’t possibly handle any more. He over-overloads me. It begins to pile up because he doesn’t just do it today. He does it every day.

The gifts he gives to me humbles me because I am supposed to be more like him. I find I do not give to others the way he gives to me. Why do we stop ourselves when we know we need to give more than we do?

I met a beautiful example of love in action the other day. A dear lady in the church here saw that someone that had recently become a member of the church did not have a Bible. She told me God spoke to her  heart and said, “Give her your Bible.” Without hesitation this dear lady scooted down the pew and whispered to her, “I want you to have my Bible.” The dear lady told me that she wouldn’t take anything for the look on the lady’s face and the joy she felt in her heart that she had done what God wanted her to do. The generous spirit she showed spoke to me.  I want to give to others like this without hesitation and with a cheerful spirit.  I want to live so I can pass the benefits I receive on to someone else. God will supply all that I need and then some.

George Muller was known to say, “God judges what we give by what we keep.” 

I want to give like that so my giving is more than my keeping!

14 thoughts on “Overload

  1. Janice, I am the Pastor’s wife at Pine Park Baptist Church, but I work at Gordon Heigths Baptist Church as church secretary. Just can’t get away from the Gordon’s. lol. I stay confused a good bit of the time anyway. 🙂

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more, Amy. What a great illustration of listening to the voice of God! I too want to be as available as that woman was in giving her bible. I believe that if we were to follow the leading of the spirit of God daily, He would show us incredible ways to give to those around us.

  3. Amy, whasup with you and Gordons and watching clouds??? grin.

    Love this post. That lady in one great example of how wonderful it is to give, instead of to receive. Amy, in case you don’t know it: you are giving with every post you make. You give encouragement and hope each time I come here. 🙂
    God bless you, girl.

    (((HUGS)))

    God’s Grace.

  4. Amy this is another great post , reminding us that it does not hurt to give if it is nothing but a kind word or a smile ! May God continue to Bless you my good friend ! Ron.

  5. Christy, This lady is a blessing to me every time I speak to her. Later, she told me she hopes to give away another Bible. I think the more we follow the more opportunities he will give us to give. Good to “see ya”! 🙂

    Janice, thanks for sharing the love. lol. Glad to have you here as always.

    Corry, Help! the’re everywhere, the’re everywhere!!! lol. Thanks for those kind words. I sure have enjoyed sharing with all my new friends. Hugs to you, too!

    Ron, It’s great to have you around. You always give me a smile. Blessings to you,too.

  6. Beautiful post! George Muller knew what he spoke of too…you know his story I’m guessing..:)
    Strange isn’t it that often the poorest among us give the most freely…its really a heart issue don’t you think? It seems like yours is definitely a giving heart. Have a blessed Resurrection Day!

  7. jadagigi, As a teenager, I read George Muller’s biography and it really touched me in a profound way. Mr. Muller opened several orphanges, which trusted God for their daily livelyhood. There have many stories that have been told of the trust he had in our God. Maybe I’ll share some of these soon. Thanks for the visit.

  8. A Happy and very blessed Easter to you and yours, dear sister!
    May the joy over God’s great love and sacrifice be with you today and every day. 🙂

    God’s Grace.

  9. Hi Amy,

    I hope you had a pleasant Resurrection Sunday. It’s wonderful that Christians from every corner of the earth can celebrate our Lord’s resurrection, all at the same time.

    God bless,
    sarah

  10. Hi Amy,

    I hope you had a pleasant resurrection Sunday. It’s so wonderful that Christians from every corner of the earth got to celebrate Christ’s resurrection over the past weekend!

    God bless,
    Sarah

  11. Sarah, I’m sorry I didn’t comment sooner. For some reason your comment got thrown in my spam filter and I just caught it. I did have a blessed Easter. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

