What a Building!

As God continues to mold and shape me into the person He wants me to be,  I begin to see the depth at which He has gone to draw me to Himself. 

How I build upon the foundation that he has laid is important.  1 Corinthians 3:12-13 states that we need to take care what we build because it will be tested by fire. Our  motivation should be to build the things that matter in the kingdom of God. Why?  In verse 16 we read, “Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you?”  He is building on us and we are building on the foundation he has laid. It’s amazing isn’t it. We are all working. We all need to be striving toward the same goal. Only then will the work of God go forth and do what it was intended to do.

Love for God should also be our motivation, or our driving force.  Love and fear cannot coexist.  We will let one or the other be the driving force in our life. Fear will have us running for cover, and we will barricade ourselves back in the comfort zone that we had tried so desperately to rezone.  I am so glad we have this verse in 1 John 4:18, “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear:  because fear hath torment.  He that feareth is not made perfect in love.” These are powerful words.  Love will cause great change in us. It will propel us into the most challenging, amazing place we have ever known. The very center of God’s will for us.

The work that has been taking place in my life is not so I may glory in the work, but that Christ may be glorified through what has been accomplished. Galatians 6:14 reads, “But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ…”  When we build upon the foundation  gold, silver and precious stone, Christ will be glorified. Our building will be a testimony of what He has done.  Jesus said in John 12:32, “And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me.”

When my days of building are over and I reach heaven, I want the Lord to say, “Well done thy good and faithful servant.” I want him to be glorified with the finished product, so I will strive to do all I can to impact the kingdom of God.

12 thoughts on “What a Building!

  1. Wow!!! The blogosphere is getting cloudy 🙂 But that can be a good thing since the Clounds tend to bring showers of blessings.

    Just wanted to stop by and say hi… I’ve been reading Gordon’s and Cameron’s blog for quite some time… Now I can add another.

    Doug

  2. Doug, Welcome to my blog. I appreciate your stopping by. Yes, it can get cloudy from time to time as long as it doesn’t make you rainy.:) You are welcome anytime.

  3. Great post, Amy 🙂

    The verse that you wrote about reminds me that we have so much available to us from God that we don’t claim as ours. “Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you?”
    So, could we say that the foundation is already built and we just need to realize His love for us as He lives within us?
    Sometimes easier said than done (trust me, I know all too well!) but just pondering His words…

  4. Love your post, Amy. You reminded me of the hymn “To God be the glory…great things He has done”. As you have said, our bodies are the temple of God. I am so thankful that Christ purchased this temple of mine and dwells in it. I take great comfort in knowing that I am clothed in His righteousness. What a humbling thought!

  5. so True, Love should be our motivation. I was driving down the road and I asked one of the boys who lives with me…”What are you doing for God?” He thought for a moment and said, “nothing.” He said thats an interesting question, why did you ask. I explained that we do things for certain reasons and it is good to evaluate our true intentions and motivations. I told him to let it sink in and think about it and let me know what and why he is a youth leader at the church, what his motivation is.

  6. Wise words indeed. It’s hard to imagine how you’ve managed to cover so many of the important concepts of Christian living in this one article!
    😉

  7. Amy may God Bless you , these are wise words . Brittany one of my grandkids back when we were in the old church building and I had just started carrying them with me , she made a comment on way to church and said she loved to go to our church and I asked her why and she said because ever body loves every body ! LOVE is the motivation of all things and thru love we can do Gods will ! Blessings and see you Sunday? Ron.

  8. Great posts, Amy! I love the way you go about “the construction”. Thanks for giving your perspective on it and covering so much ground. Lots of it would be overlooked, were it not for your diligent work on every post! God bless you.

    God’s Grace.

  9. Christy, we have a vast amount of everything we need to do the work that he has called us to do. We need to take advantage of all of those resources. Thanks for coming by.

    Sarah, I am often overwhelmed at the grace God bestows upon me, and for him to look at me in the righteousness of Christ is humbling indeed. Thank you for all your input. You are always a welcome presence.

    Dana, Love should be our motivation! It’s why we do what we do. Love for God, Love for our family, and Love for our church should be the hinges on which the door of our life swings. It makes us effective in the kingdom. I am trying to teach this to my boys as well. Thanks for your input in this discussion.

    KC, Thanks for the visit. One does ones best. lol. Just kidding, God has been working on me lately and I am thankful that he has given me a place to share the journey with someone else. 🙂

    Ron, I am so glad that Brittany feels good about coming with you to our church. She is a very sweet girl. I love to see her smile on Sundays. Oh yeah, I like to see you too. lol.

    Corry, Thanks so much for your encouragement. You have blessed me with all your comments and kind words. I am thankful for the friendship we are forming. Hey, I’ve been working on a picture of the boys and I almost have it finished. Thanks for the inspiration you gave.

Leave a Reply

