Construction Zone Revisited

We have begun. We have removed the debris and prepared the ground. Now we must give thought to our foundation and the reason we began this process to transform our life.

We need to have a foundation that will be solid and stand the test of time. That foundation is Jesus Christ.  1 Corinthians 3:9-11 reads, “For we are laborers together with God: ye are God’s husbandry, ye are God’s building. According to the grace of God which is given unto me, as a wise masterbuilder, I have laid the foundation, and another buildeth thereupon. For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ.” The building we work on has to be placed on something that is strong and sure. If we try to build on any other foundation, such as ourselves and what we can do,  our construction will be faulty and crumble when the winds of adversity come. So, Much importance needs to be placed upon the foundation. Paul states that it is by God’s grace that we have this foundation and we should be careful about what we decide to build upon it. It is my part to choose the foundation. When I became a Christian I was choosing to make my foundation Jesus Christ.

It was also my choice to become comfortable with my position. I chose to enter the comfort zone and it can happen to all of us in our walk with Christ. I want God to continue to work on me, and rezone my life to one filled with construction. One that can be effective in his kingdom.  One that will go forward to  the great things that He has in store for me.  My foundation is sure.  I want to partner with Him in this work. It can only be successful if it is done with Him.

Sometimes we may have to sacarifice our selfish desires to comply with the will God has chosen for us. He may have great plans for the building that you may not have ever thought about before. He may want you to reach out and serve Him in an area that is totally foreign to you. In doing this we may have to give up our own ideas about how the building of our life should be built.  The question we have to ask ourselves is “Would God do anything to me that was not for my good?” God sees the big picture. He sees the finished product.  As he reveals more of the plans he has for us, let us not be fearful, but trusting. Trust the one who has saved you and kept you by his grace. Grab hold of the foundation and ask God to partner with you and guide you.  Then let him lead. Do not be afraid when he guides you to do something that is even bigger than you ever imagined.

As Missionary William Carey so aply put it, “Attempt great things for God; Expect great things from God!”

9 thoughts on “Construction Zone Revisited

  1. Amy I appreciate you helping me to try and catch up on my construction because He has had at some times He could not have any patience left? I have learned to trust his word and now I have great respect! I’ll have to keep praying that I don’t loose any of the tools He has given me? Blessings. Ron.

  2. The foundation is the most important of all. There are still so many people, who believe it’s all about appearances and how to act. Until their house is shaken and it all comes crumbling down. Then they wake up in a night-mare and wonder why.(Sticking hand in own bosom. Been there, done that). The real foundation however, always shows through. 🙂

    on, should you loose some of the tools He gave you, I am sure He will provide you with others! He is a loving God. 🙂

    God’s Grace.

  3. Oops, the R fell of Ron’s name in the second paragraph. (I just blame the keyboard, so I don’t have to take responsibility for having failed to hit it hard enough, haha).

    Have a blessed day, dear sis.

    God’s Grace.

  4. Ahhh the secret…do we really believe that God “would not do anything to me that was not for the good”..its hard to hold onto that when all our selfish desires are being sacrificed..:)..however..it actually IS true…He has a purpose and He is working toward that purpose in us…for our good and His glory…what ever the cost…
    where ever we are… let the demolition or construction begin!

  5. Ron, I am glad that God is patient with me. I agree with Corry. God always provides the tools needed to accomplish what he has for us.

    Corry, I agree that the foundation is indeed important. It is our base. It is what we will be building on. Thanks again for your input. Blessings on you as well.

    jadasgigi, God does take us where we are. I am glad of that. Thank you for your comments. You are always welcome.

  6. Oh, Amen, Amy. Thank you for a beautiful, and helpful post. I just love your blog. You have helped my walk with Christ in just a short while!

  7. I too have gotten comfortable at times and have to stir up the gift. Thanks for such a thought provoking post, you always make me think. Truly you inspire me to take spiritual inventory, to see where I am and what my motivation is. I want it to be purely from love.

  8. Dana, I find myself comfortable to often as well. I liked how you said, we need to “stir up the gift.” I had forgotten about that verse. You have been in my prayers this week. I hope things are going better for you. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

